We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm...”
Review of Easter Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Easter Cottage
Ranked #24 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I’d like to say “Don’t stay here” because I want to keep it to myself and be selfish, but I can’t. My wife and I have just spent what can only be described as the best 5 relaxing nights away in Swanage at Easter Cottage and the Swanage Blues Festival. The room we stayed in was large and had everything anyone would need, the bathroom, large, clean and could fit 3 in the bath/ shower.... whoo hooo and Dave, well what can you say, easy going, brilliant dry sense of humour, accommodating, helpful, friendly and nothing was any trouble.
Easter Cottage is in a great location, 5 minutes to everywhere, pubs, restaurants, heritage railway, seafront.... Brilliant Holiday Thanks

Room Tip: Just enjoy the experience, we had the Peveril Room which was at the front looking over the street, b...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Big_BlueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Easter Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Easter Cottage in early August. Can only repeat previous comments about the lovely room and en suite, beautiful breakfast and the great location. Literally a five minute walk to station - being a steam train enthusiast can thoroughly recommend the steam train to Corfe Castle We had a wonderful few days and would thoroughly recommend this b&b!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent three nights here over the Swanage Carnival weekend - 26-29 July. There is very little to add to the previous reviews. Dave is the perfect host. Genuinely warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The house is spotlessly clean. Both bedrooms are attractive with flat screen TV, fridge and large bath/shower en suite. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well in the Egyptian cotton sheets. Breakfast is personally served by Dave and the quality is excellent with a varied selection to suit all tastes. The location could not be better as Easter Cottage is literally a minute walk to the town centre. To cap it all the weather held out for us to enjoy a brilliant carnival weekend.

We highly recommend Easter Cottage for your stay in beautiful Swanage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punctilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just got back from a very enjoyable 4 night stay at the wonderful Easter Cottage and can not recommend it highly enough.
Being returning visitors its was hard to imagine it could be better than last time but Dave is forever improving with small special tweaks guaranteed to make the stay perfect.
We stayed in the Purbeck Suite with is decorated and furnished to a very high standard and with an extremely comfortable bed and corner bath en suite for relaxing long soaks.
The breakfasts were impeccable each morning and every need is fully catered for without hesitation and being a vegetarian I was more than aptly catered for.
Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back thank you for making Our stay perfect :)

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic but have a special preference to the Purbeck Suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Much has already been written about the rooms the breakfasts and the lovely Dave which I wholeheartedly agree with but I would like to mention how good the actual area was for my sister and I. Neither of us drive so good public transport is essential.Easter Cottage is a two min. stroll to the bus station (for Wareham and beyond and also to Bournemouth via Studland and Sandbanks). Right next to this is the steam railway which took us to Corfe Castle for pub lunch. Swanage itself could be one enormous cafe/tearoom/restaurant/pub crawl !! So much choice!! Only five min.level walk is the beautiful beach. Views are amazing!! Our four day stay just was'nt long enough. We will return very soon. Why stay anywhere else when you find perfection!! Thanks Dave x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent four nights in the Purbeck Suite at Easter Cottage, and enjoyed every minute of it. Comfortable bed, massive bathroom. All the amenities that you expect from a high-end B&B.
Breakfast was excellent, with good selection of food all freshly prepared.
There are only two bedrooms, so the host can give you his full attention.
Perfect location, close to shops, steam railway, town and beach.
Hoping to go again next year.

Room Tip: Purbeck Suite is out the back, with a view over the gardens (and a rather grotty boundary wall to th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a lovely place and Dave was very welcoming. We had lots of choice for breakfast, as much as we could possibly eat (and more). The room was very well furnished , with a comfy bed and a fridge, which was kept stocked with fresh milk and filtered water. Bathroom with bath and shower over, toiletries, and fluffy white towels. Addition of robes and slippers was a nice touch. Everything clean and well maintained. Enjoyed our 4 nights stay here.

Room Tip: Only two rooms and am sure both equally good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#8 of 50 in Swanage
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 50 in Swanage
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easter Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easter Cottage

Address: 9 Eldon Terrace, Swanage BH19 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $105 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Easter Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diane and Dave warmly welcome you toour award winning Grade II listed Purbeck stone cottage - a charming, friendly and intimate Bed and Breakfast in the beautiful county of Dorset. This is the Bed & Breakfast in Swanage that you have been looking for, quietly tucked away from busy through traffic, yet within a couple of minutes level walk to the town centre and steam railway. The beautiful sheltered sandy beach is also just a few hundred metres level stroll away and the stunning coastal path is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Easter Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easter Cottage Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing