We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gee whites

Gee whites
Ranked #6 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a sunny weekend just about ideal. Fish soup great on Saturday, returned on Sunday and found it even better. Good service considering it was so busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    149
    34
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We headed to Gee Whites having read the TripAdvisor reviews and comments. The setting is great for people watching and alfresco dining. The staff were very accommodating, although the wait for our meal was over 45mins and as our table was next to the dish washer and food waste bins, it wasn't the best 45mins I have had in a restaurant. When our meal did arrive, each meal (2 adults and 2 children) was quite underwhelming. The adult fish and chips were nice but not great, the presentation of the children's meal was a nice touch, but the fish was more batter than fish. At a cost of just under £50, including two rounds of drinks this wasn't the experience I expected.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects! There's a reason it's No 1 in Swanage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Gee whites was pure heaven! Appears to be a family run place with great service and although the menu is small, what they do is great. We ended up eating here both nights we were in Swanage. We looked for another place and whilst we fancied the corner restaurant menu, they seemed very un-child friendly, and pretentious, practically turning us away on this basis. However, we are glad they did as we got to eat some very fresh and delicious mussels at Gee Whites instead!

The first night we opted for the Tuna and also the seafood platter with our 4 year old getting the child meatballs (however she ate more of the platter than this) kids meals are served in a small bucket with a spade which is a nice touch, and they get to keep it. We felt everything was great value and as mentioned on the second night we had a starter of mussels (massive portion) and bread for the lovely white wine sauce and followed this up with good old fish and chips. Crispy batter and tasty mushy peas were as good as any we've had. Both nights we had a bottle of Rosé and relaxed enjoying the view till closing, could of even stayed longer.

The setting of the restaurant is the best view from the town of swanage in our opinion. It's all outside which makes it a bit weather dependant - we were lucky with two warm evenings (with a cardy). The view is across the whole bay and out to sea which is fabulous from the small area of raised seating at the back. Watching the world walk by and kids trying to catch a crab all makes a very nice atmosphere. We were the last to leave both nights and Swanage does appear to cater for the early birds rather than night owls.

If you like fresh seafood the platter is a must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Terrific fish dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

One of our favourites..along with the rest of the world. A wonderful meal spoilt by people standing right behind us all through waiting for our table. Really inconsiderate and off putting esp when commenting on what we were eating..in fact put us off ..left before finished and not going back..a ticket system for waiting would avoid this.

Apart from that the crab sandwich on brown bread was a thing of fresh tastes and great beauty,,a simple dish of exceptional taste. Fish soup also really good...prawns not so tasty but maybe not local

Wonderful place to eat if here barring over intrusive people waiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“absolutely FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely fabulous: great oysters, fish&chips, prawns, .... nice and very friendly service. Oysters were served quickly and pink champagne with it.

Best: TRY IT - and DO NOT miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank verenakocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee whites also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Gee whites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing