We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amberlea Guest House
Ranked #24 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Daventry. United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well run B&B”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We only stayed here for one night (in September), but it was very comfortable. Room was spacious and clean and breakfast tasty and filling . A well run B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My Mum & I were intending to stay in Dorset in our campervan but it broke down (fuel filter got blocked apparently) at dark. Luckily I managed to get it to a lighted place and we knocked on the door of the Amberlea B&B (it was about 10.30/11.00pm by now). They were really helpful & had a spare double room for the night, in fact it was so comfortable that we stayed a second night (we were ever so tired & stressed so needed some time out & it was clean, comfortable and safe so we stayed!).

Really lovely people, obviously family and the boy who gave us breakfast was a real sweetie. Good location (easy walking distance to town/beach), nice breakfast, comfortable bed, freeview TV, good temperature, en-suite shower-room and with parking.

A really nice B&B. If I ever needed somewhere to stay in this area again, I would defo come back (this time after booking up - lol). I actually ended up having a nice weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at Amberlea Guest House from 27th December 2010 to 2nd January 2011.

After a long journey, it was nice to be greeted by owners Clare & Martin, and then shown to our rooms. My wife, daughter and I shared Room 2.

The immediate impression was one of cleanliness, and the room included all the important components - tea, coffe, hot chocolate (and some exceptionally nice biscuits). The beds were very comfortable and a small but very adequate flat screen tv on the wall. The shower/bathroom had plenty of clean towels & complimentary shampoo/gels etc.

My 16 year old son was in a small single room (Number 2) which he loved. A great space for him to chill out on his own. Again, all the items made available in our room were also in his.

The cooked breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked and good quality ingredients. Plenty of choice in respect of cereals, some fresh fruit, warm toast and the usual tea and coffee.

There is ample car parking space and the location is perfect for the beach (although too cold in December I think) and the town centre.

We went for the New Years fancy dress 'town' party - and it appears that virtually everybody joins in the fun, whatever the age. The atmosphere was superb and never a hint of trouble. Well done Swanage!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razorbluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We only stayed at Amberlea for one night. The owner was very friendly, the location within Swanage is only a few minutes walk from town centre and breakfast is good with a large variety on offer. The double room was alright, nothing fancy. There was no hot water in the morning unfortunately which was the only negative point, otherwise it's a typical B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Palinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Have just come back from four nights at Swanage in this B&B. Our overall impression is that we would stay again however, there were a couple of points of issue. We asked for a twin and a single room. The twin was actually (we believe) a family room. Nicely sized and very bright. However, it could have had a better clean. Some of the surfaces just needed a quick wipe over to rid the surface of crumbs and we had the luxury of a fridge in our room which was very nice but this too could have been defrosted and wiped out as there were a few crumbs. Overall - the room was lovely - the bedding was clean and matching. However, as this is a family room (or in our case made into a twin using one single and one double bed) the television only faced one of the beds - a small point but prevented the person in the single bed from viewing it. There were sachets of shampoo and toiletries in the bathroom. We didn't use these so do not know if these would have been replaced on a daily basis as there were only enough for one nights stay. There was tea and coffee in the room along with a kettle and biscuits. The tea, coffee and biscuits, if used - were replaced each day and new clean mugs were left daily.

Breakfast was good. There was a large choice of fresh fruit, cereals, juices and yoghurts. Followed by Tea, Coffee, Toast and a full English with the ability to choose what type of eggs you wanted!

The single room was extremely small. The bed had been built in and there was one small chair against a small desk. It really was very tight. It did have an ensuite within which had the wardrobe (yes, it was that tight) There was no door seperating the ensuite. There was a television - flat screen - on the wall which made good use of the space. Overall - it was felt that paying £35 for this single room (the same price we had each paid for the twin (so £70 for a double/twin room per night) was a bit excessive for the room that our friend had to occupy. However - it was adequately furnished and clean - just a bit on the tight side.

Overall - we had a lovely stay. We saw the owner on the first day when collecting our keys and on the final day when we were leaving. Our meals were served by her teenage children who were polite and swift in service - they dealt with anything you required in an adult manner - we had no complaints. Just for your info - this B&B also offered a three course meal on a daily basis for £15. There was a choice of evening meal - three choices for each course. We didn't try this out but the choices seemed plentiful and adequate. Although we didn't see the owners - they were there and were contactable if required.

Now for location - this B&B is on Victoria Avenuse which is practically opposite the jetty. It is less than a five minute walk to the seafront and I would say a ten minute walk through to town and the Steam Railway. Everything is within an easy walking distance.

For your info - we stayed at Amberlea Guest Houes - next door was Amber Lodge (we think it was called that) this B&B was also owned by the same people.

We would all stay there again - the people were welcoming - it was near to all the local attractions and we had a wonderful time - Swange is an old sea-side town with no McDonalds and with plenty of character. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.5 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
0.5 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#15 of 49 in Swanage
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 49 in Swanage
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#5 of 49 in Swanage
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 49 in Swanage
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberlea Guest House

Property: Amberlea Guest House
Address: 36 Victoria Avenue, Swanage BH19 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amberlea is a first class family run guest house,which offers a warm friendly welcome,and a relaxing atmosphere. Ideally situated,only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main beach and town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amberlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberlea Guest House Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing