We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”
Review of Old Brick Pizza

Old Brick Pizza
Ranked #69 of 86 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very poor”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have tried this Restaurant on many occasions always hoping that we will experience the truly great Pizza we had the first few weeks it opened. Alas every time it has been terrible. Pizza and pasta small and tasteless and never as stated eg with fresh basil/chilli- Almost every time I have sent it back and with little apology from waiters. The most I get is "oh" Service is painfully slow and unfriendly, and expensive for the quality. They don;t seem to be able to manage a full restaurant- So be prepared to wait and wait and wait.....
We have finally called it a day and won't be going back. Save your money and taste buds and go to one of the many other restaurants in Swanage.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    72
    54
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Having read quite a few negative reviews we decided to give it a go with an open mind. A little lacking in atmosphere, and drinks taking a long time to arrive. The waitress was wearing a t-shirt from the Pub next door so the drinks may have been coming from there. The garlic bread was good as was the dough balls, but the portion was small - half the amount you get in pizza express for more money, so not great value. The Olives we were served were literally the size of peas, which we pointed out, but were not offered a refund on them.
The pizzas were great. Fresh dough, generous toppings. At 9" they were too small for the plates they arrived on so looked pretty small but were filling. We had 2 waitresses. 1 was good, attentive and obviously did it for a living. The other was pretty apathetic and I guess didn't see it as a career.
Overall, I doubt I would re-visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

There wasn't many choices on the high street and it looked promising from the outside, so we gave it a go. The staff was ok, they were making an effort but the food was terrible. My partner had a pizza and they put a tiny pizza on a huge plate, so they don't know much about presentation. I had a calzone which was full of cheap cheese and so disgusting that I literally struggled to keep in down. Don't recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatildaW190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cant believe i didn't eat here sooner !!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have lived in Swanage for 5 years now and only recently went into this restaurant. From the minute we stepped in the door we were hugely impressed, the place was clean and we were immediately greeted by friendly and well presented staff. The menu had an excellent variety and we were served prompltly throught out the evening. Having just come back from a holiday in Italy we did wonder how they would live up to those standards ..... they were as good as the food we ate on holiday !!
Since this visit we have been back numerous times, each time as been as perect as the last and it is now my favourite place to eat in Swanage - a MASSIVE pat on the back for all the staff .... if i was the owner i'd be proud to call the place mine !!
I honestly wish i had visited sooner because in my opinion this place is unrivalled in Swanage (0:

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

How wrong can you go with pizzas?! They had run out of 3 out of 5 of our menu choices. Pizzas that were available were just average. wont be going back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Koznew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Brick Pizza also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Old Brick Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing