We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Herston's Lodges (Take Three)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Reviewed December 12, 2013

2010 (Group in 5 Lodges); 2011 (Group in 3 Lodges); 2013 (Group in 2 Lodges) > AND we are coming again in January 2014 ~ also for 2 Lodges.
I guess we just cannot keep away.
On our last visit (this review was overdue) the Lodges as ever were comfortable and much appreciated.
This time I did get to enjoy the jacuzzi hot-tub.
Thank you to the team at Herston for your considerable efforts to provide a quality base for those who stay with you.
Our arrival was slightly earlier than the normal handover time, as planned > and both our recent Lodges were ready and immaculate. Thank you.

Room Tip: We love ASH Lodge, and that is one of the two where a dog can also stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 467 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Having been to various other functions at Herston and knowing that it has aIways been a very enjoyable experience I wanted to get friends and family together for my son's 21st birthday. Talk about service I had to do nothing apart from drop off the birthday banners, balloons, party poppers, cake, candles etc and even 6 bottles of bubbly that I was allowed to bring with me for the toast. Every finest detail was outstanding. The tables beautifully set with beautiful fresh flowers to decorate. Champagne flutes set out lovely with a bottle chilling in the ice bucket. They even blew up all balloons. The fire was lit and the atmosphere was very inviting. As anyone would know organising anything can be stressful but that stress was taken right out of my hands. The fun started on Sunday lunch time where 35 of us sat down to the Sunday carvery, knowing that no one would be dissapointed as we are all local and many of us occasionally do come here for sunday lunch. As usual excellent! Good choice of meats, veg, oversized yorkshire pudding and beautifully presented, choice of puddings too. Good start to the fantstic day we all had. I asked if we could bring along our own music to play on their own system, that was no problem at all but even better than that the owner laid on a singer for a few hours after lunch. I would recommend to anyone Herston campsite, especially if you are looking for a good atmosphere amazing service and flexibility from the owner and staff to meet your needs. I'd like to say a very big thank you to Ivan for all the effort and hard work you put in and to all off you hard working and very friendly staff for making my Son's day such a fabulous one he was delighted as was myself and all who came, Thankyou so so much! :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

13 of us hired 2 log cabins for the weekend and they were perfect! Clean, spacious and well equipped throughout. The hot tubs made it!! Very warm and comfortable rooms with a great shower in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angee087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wow...wow..wow amazing place to stay fantastic log cabins well equipped..clean..delightful..fantastic hot tubs..brilliant staff and as for the Sunday roast absolutely amazing fantastic choice cooked to perfection..100% all round...we will be back.many thanks to Robert and Liz and all staff gor making our stay a brilliant one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful time we had this weekend at Herston. A large group of friends all came down to Swanage for the blues festival weekend we had a most enjoyable time. The festival was great, music coming from every available venue in this lovely seaside town, all put on for free. A big thank you to the organisers of this event.

As for our accommodation, I cannot fault it at all; it was clean, spacious and yet cosy at the same time, and the hot tub with views of the countryside was a dream after a hard day's bluesing! Food in the bar and restaurant area was great, almost as good as the atmosphere in the bar itself which was warm and welcoming. Everyone was real friendly.

The same can be said for all of the staff we encountered, seems like this is a real family concern giving it a home away from home feel. We will all most definitely be back for the blues and the log cabins. Thanks all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just come back from Swanage for the Blues weekend and stayed at this wonderful leisure park for the first time. We stayed in one of their yurts and it was wonderful! The beds were comfortable and the fire was already made up when we arrived. The shower block was clean and warm and the weather was so lovely that we had a BBQ in their under cover area. We will definitely be back next year or maybe before. We will also be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisrhona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent three nights in the Mongolian yurts and had an awesome time! The kids absolutely loved it it was a real adventure. The yurts are so cosy with the log fire going, we didn't want to leave! The yurts are really comfortable the facilities on site are fantastic and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Be aware that the yurts are like tents - no toilets! A bit of a shock to my wife, but there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you Jason H for taking the time to review one of our Mongolian yurts and we are happy that you had a great time! We hope to see your lovely family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
955 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.5 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herston Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Washpond LAne, Swanage BH19 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Swanage
Price Range: $112 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Herston Caravan & Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herston Caravan And Camp Site
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Hotel Swanage
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing