We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is the ONLY thing going for it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Botley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The location is the ONLY thing going for it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had never been to this site before but we wanted to take the caravan to the Swanage area and this looked to be a good base.
On arrival, there was no-one in reception and the pitch we were supposed to be in had a static caravan on it! We looked around and after looking at many churned up pitches, found one that wasn't too bad apart from being quite small, only just enough room for the caravan and awning.
We were there for four nights and no-one yet came to find out who we were, anytime we went to reception, no-one was around!
The toilet and shower block is pretty basic - freezing cold and if you wanted a hot shower you had to run into every shower cubicle to keep running all the showers to try to encourage the hot water through.
The site has a lot of permanent caravans which are quite grotty and do nothing to enhance the look of the place.
The clubhouse is not particularly welcoming. We went for a tea time pint, only to witness some bloke who had clearly had a few, kicking off, shouting and swearing at his girlfriend. They took it outside and carried it on for 10 minutes or so then came back in, to be immediately served again by the barmaid thus making it clear that type of behaviour is perfectly acceptable. I'm just glad my young kids were back at the caravan!
This place wasnt exactly cheap at £30 per night but I would not go back here if it was free!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, we always welcome constructive comments to enable us to improve our facilities and the experience of our customers.
In your review you do not state at what time you arrived at our site, our reception is open from 7.30 am until 5.00 pm daily, when closed there is a clear notice instructing late comers to report to our bar/restaurant, where any keys or directions will have been left by our reception staff. We would normally not contact our guests as we respect their privacy when they are on the site, but would expect that guests who require assistance to contact the reception or approach the staff in the bar/restaurant.
Unfortunately because of the adverse weather conditions of late it becomes necessary for us to move caravans or customers booked pitches to other locations within the park to enable us to deal with issues of water logging or drainage, this may have been the case with your situation, all of our touring pitches are hard standing with various amounts of grass next to them. At this time of year the ground is extremely wet and soft, some of our customers drive over the grassed areas to make parking easier or cut the corners of the pitches, unfortunately until the weather improves and the ground becomes less saturated it is difficult for us to maintain totally flat areas of grass.
The shower block has large cubicles with boosted showers, at the time of year you visited they are not being used continually so it is inevitable that some small delay is experienced when the shower is first activated, they warm up certainly within a couple of minutes.
We do have a number of seasonal pitches with touring caravans located on them, the owners are required to keep their caravans clean and the awnings well maintained, however, again because of the inclement weather, moss and algae growth has been particularly bad, this coupled with the extended winter we seem to be experiencing has meant that it is impracticable for the owners to clean their awnings/caravans to the normal standard.
With regard to the bar/restaurant, disagreements between husband and wife, girlfriend and boyfriend etc do happen; this is certainly not a regular occurrence, if any incident was ever to get out of hand with bad language or abusive behaviour then our staff are instructed to ask both parties to leave the premises immediately. We have many families and locals alike who make full use of our bar/restaurant and we are often complimented on our friendly staff and the cosy atmosphere with the open log fires and Sunday carvery.
With reference to the comment about the price you paid, firstly 20% is automatically collected by the VAT man, an average family of four would use the showers, washing up sinks and toilets and the cost of these facilities is estimated with the cost of water rates, electricity and gas to be £2.00 per person per day, other expenses of staff wages, ground maintenance etc account for another 20%, the HMRC then take a further substantial percentage, so ultimately we earn approx £5.00 per night. I can only suggest that if you require a cheaper pitch then you address your concerns to the Chancellor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    71
    44
    48
    50
See reviews for
200
75
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Herston desperate for a relaxing week. We were met by some very friendly staff who made us feel immediately welcome and were promptly upgraded from one of the lovely luxury caravans to the beautiful "Ash" log cabin. We had the best holiday we have had in a long time both abroad and in England. The surroundings were stunning and the cabin indescribable. Needless to say after 5 days of log fires, luxurious accommodation and hours in the hot tub we were both gutted to leave. We will definitely be returning ASAP and have already recommended the site to other family members who plan to go in the summer.

Room Tip: Looking at the other accommodation I imagine whatever type you choose you will be more than satisfie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my wife visited Herston on a Thursday and stayed for 4 days. The location has great views and we had a tidy pitch to park our caravan. Facilities are good, the showers at the front entrance are warm and clean and they also have a bar and a little shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012, we are seasoned campers and I can say this is the worst campsite I have ever stayed at.. when we arrived it was carnival weekend and was heaving, the only spare pitch had dog vomit on it but we had no choice but to pitch over it (the camp cleaner did clean up a bit before), it was really noisy every night and I mean really noisy till about 1am, the toilets are in an old portakabin as is the showers and they are grim, the main shower block was even worse one morning I was showering with two slugs... make me cringe to think of it!! The facilities are basic, we were very disappointed as it was over £300 for a week, glad to leave! Plus was you could have a camp fire each night. Kids play area and bar was bit grim too, but then maybe we just like smarter campsites!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always welcome constructive comments.
As stated you arrived during the Swanage Carnival week, I must first point out that this is the busiest trading period for the Purbeck area in the whole year, the entire town is usually fully booked, so you were extremely lucky to find any pitch at our site or any other.
With regard to the dog vomit, our park rangers are particularly vigilant with respect to dog fouling and any incidents when reported are dealt with as soon as possible, in fairness most of our customers are responsible pet owners who clear up after their animals.
As previously stated you arrived during Carnival week, this is a fun week and entertainment is booked at every available venue in town including the town beach. If you required a week of quite camping then you should have visited Swanage during any other week of the year; you are correct in so much as noise is permitted during the carnival up to 1.00 am but again our park rangers are instructed to ensure that noise levels are not excessive.
I would dispute that the showers and toilet blocks are dirty and grim, the cleaners clean all the facilities four times daily, however having had the wettest year in a hundred years, it is hardly surprising that they do get dirty.
With regard to the bar we have many regular customers and visitors who come year after year and recognize that the bar is the centre of activity for the park and certainly do not describe it as grim.
I also find it a little odd that we have checked our records and the nightly diaries of the park rangers and found no issues or complaints registered during the carnival week, it also seems strange that you have waited almost seven months to post a review albeit your one and only?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Returned from a day and night of coastal walking and drinking. Arrived Saturday to be met by 2 ladies in reception on of whom was Ollie, a lovely bubbly scouse lady. This out going friendly lady looks after you and your yurt, to the point where she lite our log burner at 9pm for us to ensure on this particular cold and wet evening the 2 couples staying that night in Yurt 6 we were warm and comfortable. A bit of advice, ensure you take pillows and or duvets and sleeping bags. For our first night in a yurt ever I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised and would recommend it to anyone and their family. I also have to mention the club house where everyone was very friendly, to the point where we had a black cab lift to the Kings Arms in Langton Matravers to watch Wales beat France in the 6 Nations. Great night!!!!

Room Tip: You Need Pillow and Duvets/Sleeping bags. Shower and toilet facilities are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBengrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I have had a fabulous Christmas at herston leisure. We have spent a lot of time holidaying there but mainly in the spring and summer. We treated ourselves to one of the luxury log cabins, entertainment was excellent in the on site bar and best of all we didn't have to cook Christmas dinner as it was all available at a reasonable rate. The staff were as always friendly efficient and welcoming. We have already booked the same accommodation for next Christmas!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonsbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a yurt!
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young lady who answered any questions we wanted. We them
N made our way to the yurt.. Having never been in one before we were dubious to say the least.. The yurt (Mongolian tent) was spacious and very clean, we didn't need to light the stove as it was warm enough for us. We had three double futon beds and a single one. We were quite happy to have a giggle about it as never being in one before we made light of it and didn't over expect anything.
Our first night was good although I don't recommend these beds for people with back problems as they are quite hard to sleep on.
We were greeted by a lovely lady called ollie, she was so nice, very chatty and friendly and a pleasure to talk to ( well done hers ton leisure you do have a gem there)
As its the end of the season we didn't expect it to be so quiet, the town of swanage was very quiet on the night during the day it was nice. The club house was quiet too, being end of season it can be expected.
We were made welcome and the facilities didn't disappoint and were more than adequate for us considering we were in effect camping.. I have read reviews and was disappointed that people had actually slated the facilities. There were shower blocks kept clean ( and being updated next year we were told) staff are brilliant and there was a club house ,carvery, takeaway, shop amusements etc...
Although set in what seems the middle of nowhere (even though there is a village near by) this place is perfect for those who wish to explore and want peace and quiet. Only problem we had was that we had to leave quite suddenly due to a family problem that we needed to get home to which cut our stay extremely short. However I would recommend this experience to anyone!,

Room Tip: No tip needed... Just Enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herston, Reception at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for you comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff on site cheerful and helpful, we try very hard to keep our prices reasonable and the standards good. You obviously travel alot and we are pleased Herston lived up to your expectations, we would love to have you back on the park anytime in the future.

All the best for 2013, happy travelling!

Chantelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
1.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.2 mi away
YHA Swanage
YHA Swanage
#4 of 14 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herston Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Property: Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Address: Washpond Lane, Swanage, Dorset BH19 3DJ, Swanage BH19 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Swanage
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Hotel Swanage
Herston Caravan And Camp Site
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing