We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday in Swanage”
Review of Buddies B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buddies B&B
Ranked #30 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We hired the whole B&B for a 3 generations family short break in Swanage It is in a good location just 10 mins from the centre, steam train & seaside which was ideal for our family break.

The rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated. 3 of the 4 could be made up as twin or double, the fourth was a waterbed. These double were actually very luxurious superkings - the size of two twins. In all the rooms there was still plenty of room for other furniture, suitcase etc without overcrowding. There is a really nice well equipped lounge space with plenty of comfy seating for all and a well equipped kitchen/diner, though we only did limited cooking.

Great place to stay for a family holiday as Jason provided a travel cot, high chair and baby cutlery & crockery at no extra cost and there was a little enclosed back garden to run around in. Grandparents and auntie enjoyed the top floor ensuite rooms. Lots of good fun had by our toddler at the seaside, on the steam railway and at local farm parks.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WarwickshireMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Top floor room with en-suite and new TV and plenty of room. The landlord - Jason - is a character, and a Jeremy Beadle lookalike. He is an excellent host and cooks a five star breakfast at weekends (with wife Lindsay to help).
Its a continental breakfast weekdays which is a let down as it lacks the traditional cold meats / cheese we expect to see on the continent although he did do toasted buns and choce of toasts to follow wide range of cereals and yoghurts. We had a three night stay so noticed the contrast between the fabulous weekend breakfasts and the basic Monday morning fare.
Unrestricted street parking right outside the front door which is a bonus - particularly as the B and B is just a couple of hundred yards from the town centre, sea front and Swanage's own heritage railway station.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor with two bedrooms to choose - ours had a fourposter bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Buddies for two nights, 30/5-1/6. A Thursday and Friday night. We arrived an hour and a half earlier than we stated, 5pm instead of 6:30pm, and yet Jason was all smiles and welcomed us in. The room was clean and well decorated. Plenty of tea and coffee to see us through our two night stay. We had continental breakfast on the Friday morning, followed by a full english on the Saturday morning, of which both was plenty to get us going. Swanage is a lovely old seaside town with some lovely walks and scenery. Buddies is a great value for money B&B. Thanks again Jason for a great welcome and a pleasant stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grayo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Lovely clean rooms well decorated and comfortable. Jason & Lesley were friendly and super helpful & cook a mean breakfast! Great location, only 10mins walk from the Beach, Mowlem Theatre & shops etc. Would highly recommend this B&B for great value & service in Swanage - thank you for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

very good stay very friendly can't fault our stay would recommend to any body who wants a quiet stay away from the town food excellent

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank davediver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A great down to earth honest B&B with a easy going and very helpful atmosphere (the people arn't bad either :-) )
would definitely stay again

From the Bunn's

Ask for directions to the best Fish n Chips in lower England !!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Buddies over the bank holiday weekend. The owners were away and a great guy called Mike Perry who runs a company called 'What a Relief', was managing everything. We had a great stay. Mike was friendly and very knowlegeable about the area and about Mexico (our next trip). The rooms are very clean and a good size. Breakfast time was until 9.30am so not too early like some b&b's. My only concern was that our bathroom was on the first floor landing and had a bi-folding pine door. It didn't make me feel secure and there were people passing by often to get to their rooms. Otherwise a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amberlea Guest House
Amberlea Guest House
#24 of 50 in Swanage
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#25 of 50 in Swanage
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddies B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddies B&B

Address: 75 Kings Road West, Swanage BH19 1HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $90 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddies B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to welcome you into our home and hope to provide a relaxed and friendly atmosphere during your stay. Buddies is conveniently situated a short level walk to the town, with all the amenities Swanage has to offer - it's wide sandy beach, coffee shops, selection of local pubs and restaurants, Purbeck steam railway, Jurassic coast line & Durlston Country Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Buddies B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddies B&B Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing