We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class guest house at a reasonable price”

Firswood Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Firswood Guest House
Ranked #43 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“top class guest house at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

From the time we got there to the time we left, we very well treated by Lyn and Terry, nothing was too much trouble, the accomodation was superb, fresh towels daily and a fantastic cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day! this guest house is thoroughly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochesterrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We Stayed for four nights and had no complaints. The room was immaculate in both décor and cleanliness with fresh linen and a COMFORTABLE bed. The Breakfast selections were great ,I opted for the Full English that was cooked to order and tasted excellent! The owners were polite and willing to share their vast knowledge on the surrounding area. A great example of value for money. We have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBushbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable and the owners were friendly and welcoming. The B&B is in an ideal location being just a couple of minutes walk away from the town centre, the beach and the coastal footpath.

The breakfast was great. There was plenty of food and tea!! I like the healthy stuff (the cereal, yoghurt, toast etc), whereas my boyfriend went straight for the 'Full English' which I am told was very nice!!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area, its great value for money. We had a great time and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pidgin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. The rooms were clean, fresh and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was great consisting of toast, cereal, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee and a full cooked breakfast. It is ideally situated being very close to the main centre of town and the beach.The owners were a great source of local knowledge and were happy to share this information with guests.This B&B is great value for money I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in September and whilst the B&B looks okay, we were put in an attic bedroom which was a bit cramped. I asked for a shower but the room only had a bath with a shower attachment and nowhere to hold the attachment on the wall, I had to kneel to see myself in the mirror in the bathroom to brush my teeth and shave and the water tank was quite noisy when it refilled after other guests had flushed the loo or had a bath/shower.

Breakfast was standard; 1 sausage (not local), 2 rashers of bacon, 1 egg, mushrooms, half a tomato and a small hash brown plus toast and coffee or tea.

It seemed to me that you were perhaps treated better if you were a regular; perhaps having the choice of rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#23 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#10 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#7 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corner Meadow
Corner Meadow
#28 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firswood Guest House

Property: Firswood Guest House
Address: 29 Kings Road West, Swanage BH19 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Firswood Guest House Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing