We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”
Review of The Limes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Limes
Ranked #11 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Have stayed at The Limes on two occasions with our eight year old daughter and 3 year old welsh terrier in the summer months. What a find this is, so welcoming of our little dog that we shall be returning this summer. We love it, the room is spacious with all your creature comforts, good size bathroom, tea, coffee and biscuits stocked up daily. The breakfast is to die for, the biggest plate of full English, cereals, fruit, never ending toast and the offer of smoked salmon and kippers if you would like it, how fantastic is that. We were lucky as we ate breakfast in the lovely front conservatory looking out to the beautiful views of swanage harbour. It doesn't get much better on a warm day in august. The hotel is very central, just a short walk to the seafront and all the goings on . Good parking at the rear or road side, nice cosy bar and billiard room which our daughter loved. And our naughty welsh terrier gets to go anywhere he likes too. The owners also gave us lots of tips for doggy friendly pubs and attractions. All in all a wonderful hotel, value for money and top location and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
79
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a delightful stay at The Limes over the Christmas period whilst visiting family. Lyn and Declan were extremely friendly and the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome

Our room was a large twin at the front of the property and was clean with very comfy beds. The breakfast was delicious and our chocolate Santa Christmas presents were a lovely touch

Location is perfect, a two minute walk and you're in the centre of Swanage. Overall, a very comfortable and relaxing stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are staying for the last 14 years in the Limes and have never been disappointed. This year we
will stay for 2 nights over the new year with our daughter, son in law, granddaughter and their springer spaniel.
The proprietors, Lyn and Declan, are the perfect hosts and always make us very welcome, including the dog.
Declans breakfast is something to remember!!!
Over the years the two of them have become friends and, we look forward to seeing them again.

The most magic place IN SWANAGE! If not the south coast of England.

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the front and you have a fantastic view over Swanage Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ottomeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay with Lyn and Declan at The Limes. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. There was no evidence of doggie smells/stains/hair even though this is a well known 'dog friendly' establishment. Breakfast was delicious we were offered a traditional 'full english' or a variation of and I cannot praise the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast enough. There was also a good selection of fresh fruit and cereal on offer. There was a lounge area with some lovely large leather chairs with ample reading material available to borrow and a pool table if the weather let you down and a small but well stocked bar which was open in the evenings. Lyn and Declan were excellent hosts, being very attentive without being intrusive. I felt that we were staying with friends. If only they could do something about the steep hill up to The Limes from town it would be perfect!! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldmotherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just had an extremely pleasant stay at The Limes curtesy of Lyn and Declan. Made to feel very welcome, comfortable room, perfect breakfast and best of all......"They love dogs!!!!!!" Hurrah!!!!!Our only negative was that we did not stay longer......we will be back!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked in at the limes for a 4 day break in April, and as we have a small dog we were looking for a pet friendly B&B, we found our room at the front of the hotel very clean and spacious , and we had a good view down the road to the sea , breakfast was great and Lynn was very quick to cook and serve breakfast , it was lovely to stay this time of year as there wasn't many people about , and we could go on the beach with the dog and he loved it .i would recommend this B &B no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first visit to a hotel with our two dogs and we were really nervous but we we loved it! Our welcome was great and the room spotless - you would never know any dogs had ever been in the rooms. Lynne gave us and our boys a lovely welcome and the advice on where we could go with the dogs was very welcome. We would be very happy to recommend The Limes to anyone with or without dogs. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 48 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes is a friendly, informal twelve-bedroom guesthouse a few minutes walk (up a fairly steep hill) from the beach, town and coastal walks. All rooms (except a couple of singles) are en-suite and some have sea views. There is a cosy licensed bar and a private car park. We welcome families, groups and pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Limes Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing