We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed, close to sea”
Review of The Limes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Limes
Ranked #10 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We managed to book a double room for a Saturday night on the spur of the moment to get away for the weekend to the area around Swanage for a Great British dip-in-the-sea; very easy going hotel; comfortable room, but not designer bathrooms (thank goodness), but good towels, working shower, good mattress on bed. The hotel was almost homely. Felt a bit expensive but staying anywhere in England often is. Great breakfast, friendly and helpful owner. excellent location:-few minutes walk down the hill to Swanage, (sea, sand, ice cream, beer and fish and chips ..not all at once..) and a few minutes walk up to the country park/coastal path. Beautiful beaches and estuary walks of Studland 10 mins drive away. The other direction the beautiful 'otherness' of the area kept undeveloped by the army's occupation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love Swanage and usually stay in a cottage but as I could only make a few days this year, I booked into this recommended small hotel insead and we really enjoyed it . With teenagers who need some independance the location was great, allowing them to walk to town in a few mintes and have some independance . Beach was close by( I booked a beach hut from the local council )Excellent restaurants of all prices and styles easily accessible . Love the area, the horse riding in studland is amazing , and the steam/diesel trains to Corfe with all its beauty and charm is great fun and very socialble. I am boderline OCD on cleanliness and the limes exceeded my expectations there .

Room Tip: the higher you are, the better the views of the sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasticpaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

From the outside and even from the lobby, I did not expect the room to be as lovely was it was. It was large, bright, and well equipped. Good shower and towels, as well as other standard amenities. Comfortable bed. The proprietor was helpful and flexible, allowing me an early breakfast to accommodate my schedule. You could do a lot worse than to land here when you visit Swanage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Back again for the annual pilgrimage to the Swanage Jazz Festival - and once more The Limes not only puts up with the (occasionally obsessional) vagaries of the jazz loving guests but offers a great place to stay for the 3 nights. Breakfast is excellent: Declan is a genius! The hotel is well looked after, clean and fresh, and although the rooms may be a little small, they are well equipped and the visitor is helped to feel very well looked after. Lyn proves a guide to everything around the area - with interesting comment and a dry sense of humour. Some day we will book in at a different time of year and for longer as there is a wealth of things to see and do - this year's break from the music was a Sunday morning walk to Durdle Door. It isn't surprising that one sees familiar faces there each year - it is an ideal and highly recommended place to stay. Next year? Oh, yes - booked already!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie_H_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Limes Hotel recently planning to do some walking on the Purbeck Way. After the usual research The Limes came out top for being dog friendly and in a good location for the walk we planned, food, parking etc...

This hotel, and Swanage generally, impressed us for being dog friendly. Our dog joined us for breakfast in the conservatory - well he had to watch actually. In the evenings we ate in the White Swan and Tawny's wine bar - good food and the dog was allowed in both. The Limes is close to open ground for the dog late at night. Being close to Durlston Castle we also walked there and on towards the lighthouse, but Durslton Country Park was too "managed" for my liking and not as enjoyable as the Purbeck way.

Another guest staying was on a walking trip with her dog that carried its own luggage (ie: food) in panniers. Never seen that before! Wonder if I can convince my dog....

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OtteryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we found this bed and breakfast to be well worth visiting.the hotel was very clean and the breakfast very good.we took our dog and he was well received and we would highly recommend staying there with your dog.we arrived afew hours early and was no problem.we could not fault anything and we will definately visit again the next time we are in swanage.well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arthur d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned home from a 3 night stay. Lyn and Declan run a very good hotel, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, comfy lounge, pool table and books, a cute little bar, great breakfast, local knowledge and information and dog friendly. Would deffinately stay again.... and Lyn suggested a local excellent place to eat... tawnys Wine Bar, fab food and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyAHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: 48 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $123 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes is a friendly, informal twelve-bedroom guesthouse a few minutes walk (up a fairly steep hill) from the beach, town and coastal walks. All rooms (except a couple of singles) are en-suite and some have sea views. There is a cosy licensed bar and a private car park. We welcome families, groups and pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Limes Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing