We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another perfect stay”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Lodge
Ranked #8 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sussex england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“another perfect stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just back from another brilliant stay at Ocean Lodge. It must be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are clean, beds very comfortable & the breakfasts excellent. The only downside, which isn't the hosts fault, is there is no parking so have to take your chances on a very steep hill, but that won't put us off booking next time we visit Swanage. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
138
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After staying one night in a hotel in Bournemouth which wasn't to the highest of standards, the ocean lodge was a real pick me up and made the holiday so much better. The welcome was very warm and Colin and Sue were more than willing to attend to any requirements as well as cooking a superb breakfast with a large variety of options including fruit, full English and local teas and cereal. The family room was very clean and neat and had a modern feel. The beds were large and comfy and the en-suite was very large and tidy. The room had a excellent soundless fridge and drinks facility. The guest house was only 30 seconds walk into the centre of swanage which was a lovely small town. I highly recommend the ocean lodge as being one of the best guest houses that i have stayed in the past few years. I would definitely stay there again and recommend highly to anybody else travelling to that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location in the heart of Swanage. Central to beach, pier, town, restaurants. This was a very friendly, well appointed B & B with a great family vibe. Mine hosts created a a warm and welcoming atmosphere and were well equipped for a visit from us with our 8 month-old grandson. Travel cot, high chair, a place for the pushchair. Nothing was too much trouble. The equipment for the baby was just one example of the attention to detail. In our room, there was the usual tray well stacked with coffee, tea, biscuits etc but also large wine glasses and a bottle opener! Spotless rooms, piping hot water, lovely breakfast, all at a reasonable price. Who could ask for more. Oh dear! Have I said too much? After all, I don't want to be too effusive in my recommendation as they might not have room for us next time........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay in Swanage, wonderfully located only minutes from the town and beach. Colin and Sue are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Room was bright, well appointed and comfortable with everything you could need and the breakfast was excellent. Only drawback is the lack of parking, so you have to take your chances on the (steep) road outside, but that's a small price to pay for such a hospitable, welcoming and reasonably priced B&B. As someone else has already said, this is a real gem and I would absolutely recommend it wholeheartedly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this B&B and yet again had a relaxing enjoyable 3 night stay. This B&B is immaculately clean, beautifully decorated stylish rooms & en-suite with lots of lovely little added luxuries throughout. Fresh & crisp to the touch white bed linen with a very comfy bed. Excellent full english breakfast with high end quality local produce as well as the vast continental option, also all high end. But most of all the lovely hosts Colin & Sue are the most accommodating, friendliest and down to earth couple you'll find running this B&B.It's location in the centre of town is so convenient. Definitely be back to stay again, thank you Colin & Sue..Highly recommended! Shirley & Steve Durrant, Shoreham By Sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a fantastic stay we had, perfect in every way. The room was wonderful and catered for all of our needs. Colin and Sue made everyone feel as though they were family, nothing was too much trouble and they always made time to stop and listen to any guest that wanted a chat.
I recommend this B&B 100%.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSwanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My son and I have just returned from a super stay at Ocean Lodge. Colin & Sue make running a fantastic b&b look effortless. They are so friendly and welcoming and nothing seems too much trouble to help guests relax and enjoy the stay. The location is perfect and the breakfasts are first class, everything you could want is right there. We decided to stay an extra night and we gave very little notice to Sue and Colin and we had a swift move into another room which was all done for us. The rooms are charming and very well equipped and the cleanliness throughout is superb. We had a fantastic few days at Ocean Lodge and we are really looking forward to going back in August. I will be telling all our friends and family to go and book a stay as it really was first class. Thanks for everything. See you again. Emily & Louis

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 3 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is a family run guest house in the centre of Swanage. Only 2 minutes walk from shops, restaurants and bars, Swanage Victorian Pier, award winning safe beach and Swanage Steam Railway. Divers, Walkers, Cyclists and Golfers are welcome at Ocean Lodge. We are surrounded by great walks and one of the south's premier golf courses only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing