We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, extremely pleasant and helpful hosts, wonderful breakfast. First class all round.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlee Guest House
Ranked #1 of 51 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Accommodation was exceptionally clean, well kept, comfortable beds. Breakfast was superb, beautifully cooked, with wide range of choice available. Hosts were extremely pleasant and most helpful. There was a lovely 'feel' to this place. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 300 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Touring the area, liked the atmosphere of Swanage, so thought we'd find a quiet place to stay the night. The Glenlee was our choice. A few minutes walk from the seafront. It was in a quiet residential area, facing beach gardens that had tennis, bowls and a putting green.
Greeted by Martin, the owner. The room we had, although small, was extremely well laid out & practical. They'd even managed to fit in 2 comfortable seats and a little table.
Well laid out bathroom, shower over bath was ok, shower curtain not so practical.
Walked into Swanage for dinner. Whilst walking along the seafront earlier we had noticed a fish & chip shop / restaurant that always had a queue outside.
I think it was called "The Fish Plaice" the fish was really tasty.
Back at 'Glenlee' there was a very spacious comfortable lounge with large flat screen tv & choice of dvds. We chose to catch up on a bit of TV, before retiring to our room.
After a comfortable night. Breakfast , served by Martin, was a bit disappointing.
Just your average B&B fare, only not a lot of it, the sausage was extremely peppery.
Martin said "Cheerio !" as we left.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed (for the fifth time!) for a week in the height of the summer season. As we had stayed before, we knew exactly what to expect and were not disappointed. Ann and Martin looked after us admirably. The biggest decisions of the week are 'how do you want your eggs for breakfast?' and 'are we going to the beach today?' We've already had ourselves pencilled in for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Plusses:
- nice location next to leisure park, 3 minutes walk to the beach
- good friendly service
- parking right in front or behind the guesthouse

Minusses:
- we had a small room on the groundfloor next to the toilet...
- breakfast was ordinary - no fresh fruit, small selection of cereals
- strange smell at entrance

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrtychrs, Owner at Glenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

The ground floor room you had is our smallest room and is usually the last to be booked. It has been refurbished since your visit with new furniture etc. Also we take onboard your comments on the breakfast and we now have a range of fresh fruit (strawberries, bananas, blueberries etc).
As for the strange smell at the entrance, I'm not sure what it was but it hasn't returned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My Partner and I have stayed at the Glenlee every year since 1992 with the single exception of 1998, we both love Swanage and as far as we are concerned the Glenlee is perfect for our needs. Ann and Martin Jones (the owners) are extremely welcoming and do everything possible to make your visit 100% enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you are likely to need. We usually stay at the Glenlee on a B&B basis as we like to eat out in the evening, but we have on occasions had evening meal at the Glenlee and have to say it has been excellent quality and extremely good value. the Breakfasts served are excellent both in choice and quality, in fact we consider them to' have the edge' on anywhere else we have stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P.Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

After a long drive down from Northampton, we were met at the glenlee with a welcome second to none by Ann and Martin the proprietors. We were there for the weekend during which time we felt very comfortable and relaxed. the Glenlee is very clean and well situated close to the amenities but without having the noise or disturbance. Our hosts were a mine of information throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lez147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank dhvanbuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, Owner at Glenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
2.3 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#2 of 51 in Swanage
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlee Guest House

Address: 6 Cauldon Avenue, Swanage BH19 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $73 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenlee is a friendly 4-star Silver Award (VisitEngland) guest house where you can be sure of a warm welcome and a relaxed, peaceful stay. Evening meals are offered daily except Wednesdays. It is a short walk from Swanage's award-winning beach and town centre. Facilities include a private car park, free Wi-Fi, an alcohol licence and a large guest lounge in which to relax, chat, read, play games, browse the tourist information, gaze across the pretty front garden towards the park or enjoy a drink or sandwich. All rooms are en suite, tastefully decorated and have fresh flowers, high-definition Freeview smart TVs (able to access catch-up services such as BBC iPlayer), DAB radios and hot drink-making facilities with delicious biscuits. In warm weather guests enjoy relaxing with a drink in the loveseats on the south-facing patio. Books, magazines and newspapers are available and a personal daily paper can be ordered for you on request. English and German language spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenlee Guest House Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing