We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castleton
Nearby Hotels
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
$202
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)(Great Value!)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
238
40
15
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
40
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrows nestb bfamily roomfull englishmain bedroomsmall hotelbottled waterthe pubthe ground floorguest loungeshort walkbus stopdouble bedbreakfast was excellentlovely decorvery comfortable staybed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 297 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We first visited The Castleton a few years ago, just after Julian and Maggie had taken it over. They had already made a determined start on improving the place then. At the end of October, this year, we returned with some relatives and we were all most impressed with what they had achieved. The whole place is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The welcome was as warm and professional as we remembered and the breakfast was up there with the very best. Sometimes, returning somewhere can be a bit of a let-down - especially when you bring others with you. No chance of a let-down here! We shall return...!

Room Tip: Close your eyes and take pot luck. They're all great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chose this BnB/hotel because all the other trip advisers had given it good reviews and was not disappointed. Near to the beach and a stroll away from town The Castletown is a very clean,warm and well decorated place and our room was nicer than some more expensive hotels I've stayed in. However what really marked The Castleton out was the friendly, relaxed, and attentive service that we received and that made us feel not only as liked and valued customers but as friends. A place we would hope to stay at again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a lovely 1 night stay here as part of a walking weekend. Excellent rooms, furnished to a high standard. Breakfast was also excellent. Little bit of a walk to the town centre but very close to beach. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForbesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My fiance and I enjoyed an outstanding weekend in Swanage, thanks to the kind hospitality of Maggie and Julian at The Castleton. Our room was extremely comfortable and very clean. Our hosts were excellent, as was the service we enjoyed during our weekend stay. The breakfast has to be experienced to be believed - very tasty and just what you need to set you for a days walking around the Jurassic Coast! Swanage is a lovely town to visit, as any time of the year, but our stay at the Castleton made our experience that much more pleasurable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannockolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This b and b is not just a b and b it should be a hotel.Was a wonderful place and the owners are so friendly . Rooms and dining room are verygood and well decorated.We had a 1 night stay booked but decided to stay on for another night - luckily we were able to do so. Close to town and beach.

Julian and Maggie we will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bollysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews