We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sherborne

“Couldn’t fault it! Fabulous.”
Review of The Green

The Green
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An excellent lunch in their wonderful private room. Jack and his team went above and beyond to make sure 11 fussy eaters all had a fantastic 3 course lunch. Great service and well priced. Couldn’t recommend it more. Made our special day extra special.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 37camillav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2020

We came for lunch at the Green just after Christmas. It was only our second visit after a year because we live more than half an hour away but this really is a special restaurant. Everything about the Green is expert and yet understated. The food is as good as I have eaten anywhere in the UK - I include places like Raymond Blanc’s Manoir in Oxfordshire in that category. The staff know exactly what they are doing and, as always with the best service, you almost don’t notice it happening around you and in front of you. We had exquisite guinea fowl with braised red cabbage and an equally exquisite dessert. They cooked a piece of fish for our toddler daughter and despite the elegance of the restaurant and very fine food, we weren’t made to feel awkward for having a small child with us and were charming in every way. In fact a family with a toddler and baby were also happily enjoying lunch there that day. The Green is somewhere you could enjoy a relaxed weekend or weekday lunch - just because - or somewhere that will make you feel special if you have an occasion to celebrate. Either way, you’ll be enjoying excellent food and wine served by an unduly modest and unassuming team. In a world of hospitality which often shouts loud but delivers little and in the most generic way, this is an accomplished and characterful gem to savour.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank 58anyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

I had squid to start which was deep fried squid not rings, It was delish. Followed by Hake which was cooked perfectly. Amuse Bouche was sweet potato and tumeric. Sharaz was lovely , couldn't manage desert. Not a cheap meal but well worth every penny.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JaneB1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

The place had such good reviews but dreadful when we where there. Food ok but very small portions. The staff couldn’t wait to get rid of us. Family meal for Christmas totally ruined by unprofessional manner and attitude of male member of staff. Watching our every move waiting for us to leave. Will never go there again.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Burto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019

We have had dinner here a few times and never once were we disappointed. The service and the food is of a very high standard.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green also viewed

 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing