We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of The Green

The Green
Reserve with OpenTable
The Green is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
somersetengland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

3 years ago, I reviewed this restaurant and criticised its excessive use of salt. No such problems, this time. Nor any others ,actually. The 3 course lunch ] or 2 courses with a glass of wine ] for £20
represents great value. The food is well chosen, prepared and served with skill. The welcome is friendly and knowledgeable and the whole experience a delight. No stuffiness at all !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesSomersetEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    89
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Visited The Green for a family birthday and we all had a lovely meal. My meal of the trio of crab was very tasty, fillet steak very tender and the chocolate fondant with raspberry sorbet very yummy. I picked probably the most expensive items on the menu, but they were worth it. They do a plat du jour for £20, which can be a starter, main and glass of wine or main, dessert and wine. Which I think is good value for the quality of food you get This is available at lunch time and Tue-Thurs evening. So think we will be back soon to take advantage of this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big city standard in a small town.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

No. Not the cheapest eats in town. And also, not the most chi chi. But a big city dinner with local ingredients, proper table service, nice dining room and honestly, well thought out and perfectly prepared food. My children enjoy it here, but I would say it's best suited to couples and groups of good friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jastca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food, a little over priced”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Really nice food and great wine, however had a slightly unnecessarily pretentious feel and our starters were a bit of a let down (eg. £8 for goats cheese salad with 3 tiny bits of cheese) but the main courses and puds were lovely and worth the money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited The Green for lunch last week with our daughter who enjoys good food. We all agreed The Green was really excellent, service was very good with advise on the menu and wine. Two of us had the set 3 course menu for £20, a real bargain, We could not fault the food and the bill was very reasonable.

Highly recommended and now we have found The Green we will go again, in fact we plan to take a visitor there when she comes to stay in May

Christine and Roger Wilsdon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green also viewed

 

Been to The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing