We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conflicted”
Review of The Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bakehouse
Ranked #8 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“conflicted”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had read all of the previous reviews, and granted Malcolm is wonderful, what a warm and generous individual. Malcolm offered to watch our dog after she wouldn't settle for the evening so that we could enjoy an evening out. Breakfast was nice and made to order as every one commented on
On the other hand, despite the lovely welcome and generous host, the accommodation was a little lacking, firstly, they use coded locks to enter the front door and all the rooms. Unfortunately the locks can be glitchy and require patience! Even when you thought you had them figured out, you didn't. The lights in the hallway were on a timer but lasted only seconds, not giving you a chance to get the code on the door into place. Luckily Malcolm came to the rescue and knew the codes despite the dark. My mother in law struggled with a lack of heating and in Malcolm's defence did everything he could to sort the issue and all was fine. Late night quests loud and obnoxious but again nothing that Malcolm could have prevented and he made amends for the disturbance.
All in all, just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakelley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
i am sorry you had problems with our code system ,we have used these for almost 10 yrs ,this system in our view is easy to use but we understand when people are elderly and poor sighted it can be a problem , as for other guests returning back late and being noisy ,,this i know is very boring , we try our best to make sure guests act in a respectful way and as you mentioned we gave you a discount to reflect this , finally the heating comes on at 6 am til 11 am and then from 5pm til 9 pm , we dont heat the house all day long as we assume people will be out during the day , i might add that the majority of our guests are happy with our services and i am sorry you were not. kind regards malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    56
    15
    16
    31
See reviews for
48
77
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was working in the area, and needed a cheap friendly place to stay, this was perfect. After working a hard week i was able to arrive at a time that was convenient for me,, was shown my clean room and bathroom. Was offered a glass or two of wine (on the house) Breakfast was great and made to order, (even at a time earlier than normal). Internet is free and fast. I will be returning to the Bakehouse next time i'm working in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Staying for a family event in the town, we were told that we could arrive at our convenience and we received a very friendly welcome from Malcolm. The room was warm, but not too hot, with all the usual facilities you would expect at a B&B including a large screen TV and a nice shower. Amazingly, you can order an evening meal at this comfortable, very friendly house, which is close to the centre of Sherborne, the station, Abbey and the main shopping street (Cheap Street). Breakfast is cooked to order and the owner welcomes you in the morning with a firm hand shake. We could even leave without paying and pay by internet transfer from home. Thank you for a wonderfully homely stay and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Arriving early evening in Sherborne for a family occasion, we received a lovely greeting from the owner & his beautiful golden Labrador 'Charlie'. Our room was clean and warm, with a large bed, big flat screen TV, & the requested view of Sherborne Abbey. The ensuite shower was nice and hot with excellent power (morning and early evening). Bed comfortable. Most important for me was the breakfast... cooked to order and delicious! Other reviewers say "Home from Home" and I felt that here. A lovely atmosphere day and night and an owner who cares for his guests. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose room 2. Wonderful view of Sherborne Abbey both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Old Bakehouse over Christmas.

A very friendly welcoming B & B, my room was extremely comfortable, nicely furnished

Always good to have a decent shower in the bathroom, and the one at the Bakehouse was no exception.

Plenty of large bath towels provided.

Good supply of Tea, Coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room.

Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, and served from 7:00 till 11:00.

Highly recommended, and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was on my own, and as I tend to stay in Hostels throughout the World, I booked 2 nights in a shared hostel room. As it turned out, the first night I was on my own, and the second, Malcolm the owner kindly moved me into a single room at no extra cost. Each to their own, but if you are looking for a very reasonably priced stay in a popular town, and don't mind a somewhat quirky setup, this is the place. As I had only booked for a hostel bed, the breakfast was extra, but this was excellent, filling and again very reasonably priced. The Bakehouse is also very conveniently placed for the best (and cheapish) pub in town, along with a good restaurants, and the Abbey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is amazing!! We were so well looked after by Malcolm. We had a welcome drink in the courtyard when we arrived, a lovely room with a huge bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfasts were great and Malcolm is such a lovely and very welcoming guy who goes out of his way to look after all his guests. We took our dog at no extra charge and I think she had as good a holiday as we did playing with the resident Labrador Charlie. We will be back as soon as we get the chance.
This is not a 'posh' B&B but a very friendly, clean and tidy, down to earth place to stay and would recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor easier to let the dog out during the night or early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonandTonyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#11 of 24 in Sherborne
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Property: The Bakehouse
Address: 1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Bakehouse Stone Built With 10 Rooms, Courtyard Garden, Dog Friendly, Wi-fi, Evening Meals, Intimate And Friendly, A Pleasant Alternative To A Large Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Hotel Sherborne
The Bakehouse Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing