We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and very comfortable bed!”
Review of The Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bakehouse
Ranked #10 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good value for the area, and we had a warm welcome and good cooked breakfasts provided by Geoff and Yvette as Malcolm was away at the time of our stay. Charlie the Labrador was adorable and very well behaved, it was nice to see him as I was missing my own dog and enjoyed his company. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and we slept better than we usually do when away from home. It is an old building and at a budget price, so the accommodation is what you would expect, but it would benefit from some maintenance, especially by a good carpenter to make the doors and windows work properly. We enjoyed our stay and if you like animals and are on a budget the Bakehouse B&B should suit your requirements.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

thank you for your kind review , we will look at your points that were raised , but our problem is the building is grade 2 listed and we are not allowed to replace sash windows or replace doors , so quite often its hard to get a long term solution but we will try to do best we can , thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 245 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed in this B&B/hostel twice. Once in the B&B and once in the dormitories. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to provide contact me and provide a room after a cancellation.
This sells itself as affordable accommodation in an incredibly pricey area and it provides all that can be expected for the superbly low rates.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r2a6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

thank you , glad you liked it, we are trying to cater for everyone , the hostel i think is needed in sherborne , people in this economic climate still need to travel but need a cheaper option , of course we cant please everyone just last week we had some awful women , could not find anything to like here , dirty , smelly bad customer service , then invited relatives who were not staying here demanding free breakfast for them ! but its the the nature of some people to try to bully and threaten you with bad reviews , so you just have to listen ,smile and carry on , but we are happy that most people understand that we try to give good value and service in an expensive area , thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends had been invited to a Wedding in Sherborne and had been looking for a place to stay for two nights that was value for money. The Bakehouse hostel was a true find! For £20 a night we had beds, (bunk beds but this added to the fun of the trip!), showers, a sofa area, towels, Internet and tea/coffee and toast making facilities! We certainly got more then we bargained for but in a good way! Malcolm-the man in charge-explained they were in the process of finishing all the hostel rooms and we gave a few pointers. Couldn't fault Malcolm and his helpfulness and sense of humour-he lugged a full length mirror upstairs for us to use whilst gettin ready for the wedding and left us bottled water for our late night return-gratefully received after a free bar! Brilliant location, lovely people and amazing value for money. Would certainly recommend the hostel side and would stay again. Thank you for everything :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bekster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

thank you for your kind review , we are just feeling our way with hostel! over the summer we hope to improve the experience for our customers , make sure we have big flat sceen tv and a couple of house computers , also the decor should be totally finished by then , its important to us we provide cheap clean accommodation here in sherborne . real value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a very enjoyable 9 weeks at the Bakehouse. The rooms are of an excellent quality and value. The location is very central with shops and pubs within walking distance and even if they are not Malcolm very kindly offers transport. Malcolm is an extremely welcoming and generous host and his talking dog is something to behold. Nothing is too much trouble for Malcolm unless Tottenham Hotspur are playing on the TV and whatever you do don't mention Gareth Bale going to Manchester United. Also, try not to ring at about 7.45pm as he might answer the phone in a Russian accent by mistake. Overall, we cannot recommend the Bakehouse. Strongly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheznie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the bakehouse for one night. I was attending a party in a nearby village. I arrived pretty early and Malcolm the owner was really friendly. The room was lovely, small but it had everything you need, fantastic big shower, and it’s an old building so the quirkiness is lovely. Malcolm recommended local places to eat, the Pear Tree, and drink, the Digby Tap, both of which were great. The breakfast is great and informal, you really are staying in someone’s home, it's lovely. You can have a late breakfast too and a late checkout, perfect if you have been to a party or wedding. When we went to leave I almost forgot to pay and Malcolm said 'Don't worry I can give you bank details to pay later' so honest and trusting. I just went to the cash point, it's so close to town, but it's such a nice trusting thing to hear. I would definitely stay again, it’s a reasonably priced BnB in a lovely part of the country with all the quirkiness and honesty of the west country!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Held a party here for about 12 people and had use of lounge, dining room, kitchen and all amenities.
Malcolm prepared great party food and drinks at cost price, and the chef there (a pastry chef by trade) handmade a beautiful cake! The courtyard was lit up and looking beautiful. Very relaxing atmosphere. Hostel room and family room at £20pp for friends, and doubles for couples. Truly great night. Would definitely book again...! All very fairly priced :)

Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elhe1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good if you need a room to sleep, but not luxurious: a bit dirty and cluttered. needs a refurb i think. i don't think we'd like to go to a wedding from there: would feel a little grubby.
Staff nice enough, but owner couldn't work out if i'd paid in advance or not, so tried to make me pay twice (luckily i found the receipt in my email).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#9 of 24 in Sherborne
30 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Chetnole Inn
The Chetnole Inn
#1 of 2 in Chetnole
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Address: 1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range: $95 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Bakehouse Stone Built With 10 Rooms, Courtyard Garden, Dog Friendly, Wi-fi, Evening Meals, Intimate And Friendly, A Pleasant Alternative To A Large Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Hotel Sherborne
The Bakehouse Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing