We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location in the town with views of the Abbey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location in the town with views of the Abbey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for the weekend at the end of October. I found the hotel staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble The bar and restaurant staff were polite, friendly and had a sense of humour. I especially liked the spacious rooms that were tastefully decorated. They were clean and fresh.
For me the location of the Inn was superb, I parked the car on Friday and didnt use it again untill I left on Sunday. Everything such as the station, the town ,the Abbey, the castle and the lovely slopes walks were a short walk away. Olivers in the town is the place to go for a piece of cake.
The restaurant at Half moon is a lovely setting (love the foliage) and the meals are very nice. I was a bit concerned at some of the reviews I had read prior to going but they are OUT OF DATE.
Under new management since the spring of 2008 the Inn is a friendly , vibrant place and I wouldnt hesitate to go back there and fully intend to do so.
I am going to have that lasagne !

Mrs wilson cambridgeshire.

  • Liked — it was clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing it tcked all the boxes for me.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambsjaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    42
    27
    14
See reviews for
59
63
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

I booked this hotel on the back of a review on this site, as all the hotels I wanted to stay in were full - it was for a Saturday night at short notice. So thanks for the warning about ear plugs! The reception was friendly and the room was nice and big. There were two beds - one single and a very small double. We pulled them out to make one super bed and the carpet underneath was littered with ear plugs and other bits and bobs. Someone needs to have a word with the cleaners. We slept very well (one of us in each bed) but avoided breakfast - not sure why but my gut feeling told me that there was better to be had elsewhere. The location is stunning - right next to the abbey - and the deli / cafe next door does really nice breakfasts. As long as you're not expecting the Ritz the half Moon is perfectly passable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Messy room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

I was booked into this accommodation by my company in the course of my duties. Have to say I wasn't looking forward to it after reading the previous review.

In the event I was relieved to find that the standard, relative to other SW UK B&B accom, was high. Rack-rate appears expensive - currently GBP79, I believe - but I don't know what the company paid. I was put in rm 12 on the 2nd (top) floor, facing the Abbey - you soon realise why the staff leave 2 packets of ear-plugs on the bedside table! The road outside wasn't too busy after 23:00, but the Abbey clock does chime the quarter-hour.

The room was well-decorated and appointed, with full CTMF including cocoa and Ovaltine plus 2 small packets of biscuits. Excellent TV/Radio with full freeview. Good shower with strong pressure - all v. clean.

Overall, I'd cheerfully go back but would possibly request a room facing the back of the building if I wanted a quieter night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and standard of facilities
  • Disliked — Noise from street, Abbey bells and (early evening) revellers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HEMSdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

We ended up at this hotel for a night in December 2005 after finding all the local tourist information centres closed for staff training and being left stranded... The tariff was £69 (B&B) and we felt it offered poor value. The room in itself was okay in terms of size and outlook, but its condition was poor. Peeling paint, cracks in the wall, a broken old trouser press, the smell of cigarette smoke from the room next door, generally pretty tired... Cleanliness of the shower head and the toilet were questionable. The shower had great pressure but the screen leaked and we ended up with a major flood. Luckily when we asked for towels to mop it up they arrived quickly.
Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were okay.

Helpful?
16 Thank Sashina_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sherborne hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#7 of 24 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Half Moon Street, Sherborne DT9 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel Sherborne
Half Moon Inn Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing