We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved Jacqui and her husband, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Australia New South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“loved Jacqui and her husband, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I'd like to thank the landlord and lady for making my husband and I feel so welcome. We visited Sherborne from Australia, had a great time at The George, hope we can visit again......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    20
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT FRIENDLY PUB WITH GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable evening at The George, we had a very warm friendly welcome and the food was lovely and very good value accompanied by a lovely easy drinking wine. We would definately reccomend this pub and will definately eat there again whenever we are in the area. Thank you for a very enjoyable evening

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch at the George was definitely a really good decision when we visited Sherborne yesterday. The appeal of a complimentary pudding for Senior citizens initially drew us in and we really enjoyed the roast chicken (with beautifully cooked vegetables - I hate soggy ones!) and the gammon egg and chips was good too. Followed by syrup sponge, raspberry pavlova and bread and butter pudding (we all chose different) we were very pleased with the choices.
£6.95 each was very good value.
Well done them - will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KRC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Proper English Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just read the review from Ben 176 and was somewhat bemused. This pub is pretty much a typical English pub with a small and loyal local customer base. It isn't trying to be anything else, offers good service, reasonable food and beer. I think I would choose my first date venues carefully to suit the other party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowmore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Home cooked Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

As soon as we entered we were greeted by the Hostess,table was laid ready,clean cutlery.First visit was fish bake.A nice touch was a jacket potato topping,not the usual mash,which tends to sink into the parsley sauce.Succulent,could have eaten another,but that would have been greedy!! Next time was the sirloin steak,cooked to perfection.But the size of the portion and all the trimmings meant I had to share with husband.There was salad,beetroot,coleslaw,grapes onion rings,enough for 2 people.I have heard that before current owners took over,this pub was seen to be rather rough.All has changed,pay a visit,you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Sherborne, Dorset
 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing