We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pub”
Review of The Mitre Inn

The Mitre Inn
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A quintessential pub set in the rolling hills of the glorious Dorset countryside. No pool tables, no slot machines, no juke box - just a warm welcome, well kept beers, local cider and something on the menu boards for everyone to enjoy. Dog and children friendly, we have a large garden for you to enjoy in summer and roaring log fires to keep you warm in winter. Meals can be enjoyed in the bar, dining room or garden.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, nice strong beer (pump on the right), a real pub. Well worth a visit. Normally full of dogs with Finley the house dog being very friendly. If you want to visit a pub that is how a pub should be then the mitre should be at the top of your list.

2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMitre, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Thursday 30th july my wife and I thought we would like to take some friends of ours to a nice traditional village pub so we went to check it out.
Well good job we did- it stinks of dog and there are dirty cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. There is thick dust on the top of the bench seating and the back of the bench is broken; the seating is split in various places.What a shame we will not be going back there or recomending it to anybody.
the only good thing is they serve is Doombar.

    • Service
2  Thank JB9945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMitre, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit to the Mitre Inn. As you say, we are a country inn and, as such we are dog friendly. The 'smell of dog' has not been mentioned before, maybe because a lot of our customers are also dog friendly, but this is something we will address now it has been brought to our attention. We are also'spider friendly' hence the cobwebs, but we can appreciate that not everyone will feel the same, so they are now being tackled by our trusty Henry, as is the dust on the settles. It is a shame you didn't try more than just the Doombar, as we are sure there would have been something on our food menu to enjoy. Thank you for your feedback - we hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Every time I visit The Mitre Inn you made to feel very welcome . Great menu & food is good quality .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pollyanna004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMitre, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Great to see you at The Mitre Inn and thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Limited but good selection on chalk board menu; food well cooked. Lively atmosphere and full of locals making it a village centrepoint.

Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMitre, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for your review which really captures the essence of The Mitre Inn. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A lovely old country pub that hasn't been modernised in any way. Fantastic Sunday lunch at very reasonable prices. Very friendly staff. Dog/child friendly with lovely fenced off garden. Would highly recommend this pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMitre, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for your visit to The Mitre Inn and your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre Inn also viewed

 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing