We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sherborne Castle visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherborne Castle

Sherborne Castle
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sherborne Castle and Gardens is open from 25th March 2016 to 30th October 2016. (Please refer to the website for more information). Sherborne Castle was built by Sir Walter Raleigh in 1594 and has been the home of the Digby family since 1617. It is steeped in history and has nationally important collections of Art, furniture and porcelain and has one of Capability Brown's finest landscapes. We are Ambassador site for the Capability Brown Tercentenary Festival celebrations.
Dorset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sherborne Castle visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you like visiting old houses then I would say this is a must. At £10 a person (sorry £9,50 for us older generation) I think it's expensive but probably in line with most other places. It's a private property so...
WE didn't bother with the old original castle,,,it's a ruin and I think that Corfe Castle depicts "Cromwells knocked it about a bit" perfectly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NomadDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    103
    28
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The house was a great place to visit. Very reasonable entry price at £10 for the house and gardens. Capability Brown designed the gardens and they were beautiful. The house was well run. Liked the fact that all the antique clocks in the house actually told the time. Would go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We wanted to visit this 'castle' as I am very interested in Sir Walter Raleigh. My 13 year old son was with us and even he pronounced it 'very interesting'. There are many connections to diferent periods of English history and the collection of paintings is great. The stewards in each room were knowledgeable and happy to chat. They obviously love the house. The grounds are immaculate and absolutely stunning. Unlike previous reviewers we enjoyed our lunch in the cafe - we sat outside in the sunshine with a view of the lake. We would love to explore the cellars if it was ever possible! Overall we had a really lovely afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lots of history in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our visit was in pouring rain - not difficult this summer. We were with our car club. Brilliant setting for an event like that as the lawns lend themselves to displays with the magnificent castle in the back ground. The grounds and gardens are truly lovely. Lots of little areas to discover with good planting schemes, the huge lake and lots of history to go with it. The castle is interesting and worth the extra money to visit. Plenty of artefacts to examine and a delightful room containing photographs of the family from the early days of photography through to the modern times. The catering arrangements are clearly inadequate, mainly through lack of available seating on a wet day, so if your visit is on a dry day a pcinic might be the best option. However we really enjoyed the visit as the architecture of the castle, the history and the setting are well worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rapunzelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Charmed and informed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were initially a bit shocked by the entrance fee as the house isn't that big and the grounds are quite small. However we got a very warm welcome at the kiosk and the entrance room from both members of staff and as we made our way through the house the history and charm of the place emerged. It was very quiet when we visited and all the staff seemed friendly and knowledgeable ( I suspect that they are mainly volunteers) one elderly lady guide in particular had a very deep knowledge of the history of the house and it's previous inhabitants and really made it come alive for us and put it in context, she was not at all boring - I could have listened for hours! By the end of the tour we all felt that actually the entrance fee was good value as there was even more to see in the basements such as an exhibition relating to the "Old" castle and excavations.
The cafe was quite basic and small and the choice was limited. The shop was mainly aimed at school trips I think, although they did sell local wine.
The gardens were well tended and there was a pleasant walk around the lake to the "old" castle. The info board at "Raleigh's seat" made me laugh out loud, (but I will let you discover why for yourself!) It was a shame that there was no access to the old castle, maybe English Heritage and the owners of Sherborne Castle could put their heads together about this?
Although car parking is very near the house it is on grass. If you like your historical attractions "Disneyfied" then this won't be for you but suffice to say we left the castle feeling relaxed, charmed and informed!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfishnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherborne Castle also viewed

 

Been to Sherborne Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing