We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend - a memorable evening out.”
Review of Tamburino Gold

Tamburino Gold
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamburino Gold was established in March 2011 by Domenico and Miguel, teaming up in partnership to provide the ultimate Italian dining out experience.Domenico and Miguel had previously worked together in a popular Italian restaraunt for 8 years. With Domenico's great business skills and Miguel's devine cooking capabilities - joining forces makes the perfect combination.We are situated in an ideal location in the beautiful town of Sherborne, positioned with a great view of the famous Sherborne Abbey.Tamburino Gold is already proving to be a great success, providing superb food and a great level of service
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend - a memorable evening out.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

On both occasions visiting this restaurant we were very impressed with both the food and the service. If a lobster special pops up on the menu, don't go past it - I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    129
    44
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate there on a Tues evening - good atmosphere, busy and animated. Excellent service- right balance between attentiveness and being left to enjoy a leisurely meal. Particularly enjoyed asparagus starter and tiramisu (plus bottle of pino Grigio at £18). Very good value as indicated by its popularity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A special place to eat”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Having been to watch the firework display we had not booked a table tonight so popped into Tamburino's and were greeted with warm smiles. The 4 of us had meals from the 'specials board' and all were faultless, as was the service. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough,the food was freshly cooked and delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillE771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A much improved restaurant.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Twice over the past month or so we have visited this restaurant. Originally, when it was first opened about two to three years ago, we found it most expensive for what we received. Consequently, now we have tried it again, we found the costs more reasonable and more in line with its sister restaurants in Yeovil. The food is now of good quality, which is served properly and in reasonable time. The staff are attentive and polite. The atmosphere is noisily Italian, which we like. Laminated menus do not worry me and whilst I am sure they are the basis of what is served, there is a "specials" board which changes every day depending on availability.
I have no doubt we will return again in the near future. Try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

14 of us went for a family meal.the service was great,the waiter seemed very passionate about the food on the specials list.i had sword fish it was absolutely delicious ,cooked very simply.
It is a good family choice the menu suits all ages.
Nice little touches were warmed brandy over a hot water bowl.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamburino Gold also viewed

Sherborne, Dorset
Sherborne, Dorset
 
Yeovil, Somerset
 

Been to Tamburino Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing