We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Away”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Night Away”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stopped at the East bury for one night whilst en route to the New Forrest. We have stayed here before and have all ways found it a most enjoyable place to stay. Friendly staff, excellent rooms (we stayed in Willow) and very good food which I would have thought worthy of Michelin Star recognition.

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow which was on the ground floor and very comfortable and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    167
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
445
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved our 1 night stay at the Eastbury hotel, very friendly hospitable staff who made us feel very welcome. We loved our room which had the most comfortable bed. The bathroom was devine which included a bath & good size shower with lovely products to use. The breakfast was just delicious, would totally visit again if we are ever in the neighbourhood!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqueAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very well situated for a short break. Sherborne is beautiful and the hotel is a very short stroll to town. We had a superior room but it was a few yards from one of the food/beverage areas so the location wasn't ideal. Food was excellent, staff and service were ok without being exceptional. All in all very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

After recently purchasing a special offer on the Living Social website it was time to visit The Eastbury Hotel in Sherborne for our overnight stay and eating experience.

The deal included an overnight stay at the hotel with a six course taster menu on the evening and breakfast the next day (£110 for two)

On arrival we were welcomed by a man at reception who I believe to be the hotel owner.

The Eastbury Hotel is privately owned and managed with over twenty rooms available for occupancy and for our stay (which was Sunday into Monday) the hotel was full (always a good sign).

We were told that our room would be ready in a couple of minutes and that a member of hotel staff would come and find us so we took the opportunity to explore the hotel grounds and have a drink.

The hotel rooms are named after trees and flowers and you get a good old fashion key to open the door rather than a swipe card!

The receptionist showed us to our room which was large and specious with a super bathroom and walk in shower.

The room was spotlessly clean with crisp white sheets on the kingsize bed and whiter than white towels in the bathroom.

There was a caseful of tea and coffee facilities available to us with a jar of what looked like home made cookies, I thought this was a very nice touch.

Once unpacked we headed back to the garden where we discovered a further seating area overlooking the well maintained gardens (It did help that it was a beautifully sunny day).

The restaurant is situated in a large conservatory area which overlooks the walled gardens of the hotel with a wonderful array of plants and shrubs, it was a real picture.

Having never eaten a six course taster menu before we weren't quite sure what to expect.

The dining room was full, which added to the atmosphere of the evening and the waitering staff ready for what was going to be a busy night for them.

The service we received was quick and efficient, each course was explained to us by our waiter and quickly cleared away before the next course arrived. It really was a taster menu with some lovely flavours of foods that we had not had before.

The food was delicious and their adaptation of Strawberries and Cream was just scrumpcious!

Having ordered coffee as an extra we were presented with not only a pot of coffee but four beautifully designed chocolate creations that we shared (as we were absolutely full up by now!).

The bed was really comfortable and because the accommodation is mainly as the back of the hotel there was no disturbance.

Breakfast the next day was self service for cereals, fruit etc with waiter service for the main which was a choice of full English (including a vegitarian alternative) Continental breakfast, smoked salmon with scrambled egg (delicious!) and several other choices. Large pots of tea and coffee were served along with ample toast. It certainly set us up for the day.

The hotel and service we received was quintessentially English at its best, well done The Eastbury you should be proud of yourselves.

On checking out I noticed that they host special Jazz event Sunday lunches in the Autumn. We may well be back for another overnight stay then!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for my husband's 70th birthday. We have been staying here since the 1970s through several owners and I think it is the best it has ever been. Staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. The food is of a very high standard. Our room was immaculate with quality toiletries and tea and coffee facilities. There is good parking and the gardens are beautiful. It is an easy walk to the centre of Sherborne. I so hope this hotel doesn't change. Its a delight to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akchhsbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a livingsocial voucher that included a 7 course tasting menu dinner. Decided to upgrade to a superior room having read previous reviewers comments. It was well worth the extra cost as it was a fantastic room, with lots of space and a great bathoom. It was spotlessly cleaned each day. 7 course meal was good (we didn't bother with the accompanying wines as they seemed a little overpriced). The service throughout was excellent, friendly and a nice balance between professional and friendly. The only criticism I would have is that the weather was lovely and with our room window open the extract from the kitchen was a bit noisy (otherwise it would have been silent as our room looked over the splendid rear garden). Overall a lovely stay in a great location. Would definitely stay here again on visiting Sherbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshOD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was our third visit to the Eastbury, and once again it was outstanding. The staff are all very friendly and obliging, the hotel, although old, is in very good condition with clean comfortable rooms that have been refurbished to a very good standard.

The taster menu they offer is excellent, third time we've enjoyed it each time a little different so hats off to the chef and the team.

The ambience of the hotel, the excellent staff and also the setting helps make this a fantastic place to unwind and relax and is only a short walk from the beautiful Sherborne town centre with lots of shops, bars and restaurants which is useful if you want to spend a little longer but not eat at the hotel every night.

All in all our favourite place to visit and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: it's a nice quiet location with no rowdy bar or anything too nearby so all the rooms are nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
518 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing