We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greedy Hotel???” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Greedy Hotel???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were invited to a Wedding at The Eastbury in June. We tried to book rooms in January, but the hotel restricted us by insisting they would only allow booking for 2 nights across the weekend. Which left nearly all of our party looking for alternative accommodation, or a bill for 2 nights when we only wanted 1....

We found rooms for around £60 in a local pub, but unluckily for us they closed down and fortunately at the last minute the Eastbury changed their policy. They still had 11 vacant rooms the night of our event. I believe these would ALL have been booked had they not been so greedy asking for 2 nights.

The Hotel is average but charges top prices. There are some nice rooms and a lovely garden, but there's also some very tired decor, corridors & bedrooms which are absolutely not worth the £120+ they are trying to charge per night.

Bar prices seem ok, though the selection of beers is poor. No real ales or bitters. I imagine they struggle for the trade needed to sell these.

The billing process wasn't simple with a number of guests complaining about VAT being added to their bill. Or the price not being as expected.

A good day, the service was generally very good. Though an improvement on customer room pricing and communications would be welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucose32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    160
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
430
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Eastbury with the worlds biggest puppy. The staff took us totally in their stride and were so gracious and hospitable. Baby Hagrid loved his dog biscuits waiting for him when he arrived in the room. I loved the the bed and bed linen. Service, drinks in the garden and breakfast were fabulous. i couldn't praise the Eastbury highly enough! What a lovely and homely hotel.

Room Tip: Sherborne is a peaceful and quiet little town. My window was open to the street and I was not distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckydawsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for one night a few weeks ago. After checking in to a very comfortable and tastefully decorated room we went for a stroll in Sherborne, did some shopping and had a superb afternoon tea at The Three Wishes (The Eastbury's little sister). Supper, a 7 course tasting menu was a real treat, a tantalising culinary masterpiece. I struggle to sleep anywhere away from home as I usually find the beds so uncomfortable, not here, I slept like a baby. Breakfast was amazing, locally sourced and well cooked with very attentive staff. How could we find an excuse to return soon? thank goodness for a 60th birthday celebration. Bret, the amazing Head Chef created a wonderful menu for us, there wasn't one thing on it that we would have changed, the flavours, combinations and presentation would match any Michelin starred restaurant. No need for a cruet on the table here. The amazing food was complimented by a superb staff. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Friends took us here for a meal to celebrate my husbands 60th. Drinks in the lovely garden first served in great glasses with tasty nibbles. Bret the chef had created a marvellous menu which not only excited the taste buds with it's ingenuity but with the attention to detail was a feast for the eyes as well. All the serving hotel staff were well informed, attentive, courteous and very professional and the overall ambience of the evening was a real 5 star experience. A night to remember and talk about, thanks to chef Bret and staff (and the friends who took us of course).

Room Tip: Sadly, we didn't stay the night as it was fully booked, but if the ladies toilet was anything to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Eastbury and were delighted with both the hotel and the town. Our room was very clean and cozy with a gloriously comfortable bed and pillows. Nice deep bathtub. The staff were very pleasant and very helpful, and we got wonderful service. We ate in the first evening, and the food was somewhat pricey, but it really was quite spectacular, so we felt it was worth it. Given the dinner, we were looking forward to breakfast! We weren't disappointed, everything was delicious. We applaud the owners for sourcing their food locally; they prominently display this information on their menus, and so they should. As a traveler from overseas, I like to know that we are getting the best and freshest food available, and that our visit is helping to support the local economy. We are in the Dorset countryside after all, and it's only proper the food is local. This is a very comfortable and upscale hotel, without being snooty. Very close to everything we wanted to see in Sherborne - the Abbey, the Castles, lots of shopping, lovely walks, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at The Eastbury to attend a friends wedding recently. The hotel itself is ideally located near to the centre of Sherborne. Our room wasn't ready upon our arrival at 1pm, but this was not a problem as we took the opportunity to have a drink and sit in the garden in the sunshine, which was lovely.

The gardens appeared well maintained and made a great setting for wedding photographs.

Once we got to our room we found it to be very well appointed, nicely furnished and spacious.

The wedding celebrations went very well, and the staff seemed to work hard behind the scenes without being noticed by the guests, ensuring that everything went to plan. Working in the hospitality industry myself, I know this is something a hotel strives to do well.

The wedding meal was good.....fabulous chocolate dessert!

Breakfast was good, offering a nice selection of cereals and fruit, although I didn't see any continental items available. Cooked breakfast was very tasty however.

Overall we had a very enjoyable weekend away, and I would return to The Eastbury in the future if we were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I planned my 50th birthday celebration at the Eastbury hotel with the extremely helpful chef Brett and the restaurant manager.
It couldn't have been better. The food was spectacular and the service both efficient and friendly.
All of my guests agreed and were also pleasantly surprised by the bill.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing