We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend break at eastbury hotel sherbourne”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lovely weekend break at eastbury hotel sherbourne”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

we did an overnight stay at the eastbury hotel and had a 7 course tasting meal and breakfast.Really nice hotel and food was good presentation was excellent and good service.We upgraded to a superior room overlooking the garden ,worth the extra.Breakfast was also very nice with local produce.The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the town so it was lovely to amble down and look around the town.Would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: worth paying the extra bit for a superior room at the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    164
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
436
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Eastbury a few times and always enjoyed a warm welcome, comfortable stay and excellent breakfast! The hotel is just a 2 minute walk from the town centre. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this traditional market town that has managed to retain a heart and soul and has not lost out to out-of-town shopping centres.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deliberator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We returned after 18 months for another stay at the Eastbury and found the hotel and its staff as friendly and pleasant as previously. Some of the staff remembered us and we were able to ask for news of others who had left to have children. Unlike a previous reviewer, we cannot fault the staff who were friendly and attentive throughout our three day stay.

On the Sunday our family came to join us for lunch in the restaurant and our two grandchildren, aged 10 and 7, were treated to individual dishes which were explained to them and they were made to feel very special. The result was that they ate every last mouthful, enjoyed themselves and behaved impeccably. My husband and I had the Tasting Menu on one evening and much enjoyed the variety of flavours, textures and the visual appearance of the dishes. The Dorset beef trio was memorable, the Mango cornetto delicious and the 'Woodland Floor' a chocolate delight to finish with. And we could still do justice to the breakfast in the morning!

Unfortunately the weather was far too cold to enjoy the garden but we could watch the birds feeding outside the dining room window.

Sherborne is a very pleasant town to visit and the Eastbury a most comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundtravellerLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This has to be some of the worst service I have ever had.

My partner and I booked Mothers Day lunch to take both of our Mothers and what a disappointment it was. A previous post was right, the conservatory restaurant really does lack character. Having been directed to the restaurant by reception, when we walked in we were ignored by the waiting staff, until I said, could we be shown to our table please. The food I would describe as OK, but really nothing special.

The service is beyond belief. After 10 minutes I had to ask to order drinks, and that set the tone for the whole meal. Eventually our starters arrived and 10 minutes after we had finished I had to ask for the plates to be removed. Another 20 minutes later we had to ask for our main courses. And again later we had to ask for the desserts. Meanwhile, what appeared to be the two most senior serving staff, stood and chatted and never even looked up to see if anyone needed any attention.

Clearly there is a complete lack of management, perhaps that is just a Sunday thing, no wonder the place was a third empty on what should be the busiest Sunday of the year!!!

It really doesn't take much to train waiting staff. If you are walking across the restaurant look around as you go to see if anyone is trying to get your attention, don't look at the floor!!!!!

A real disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the end of Feb. on a £99 "Travelzoo" deal. Our room was "Willow", which overlooks the garden, it is classed as a superior room, excellent size with bath & separate power shower. They provided excellent coffee/ tea & biscuits. The evening meal was superb, we had the tasting menu, which was on display outside of the hotel & priced at £45 pp. Breakfast was again superb all locally sourced products & cooked to perfection. All this for £99. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I would happily pay full price! Well done "The Eastbury" faultless staff, hotel & restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Willow" very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

eating at the restaurant,food very nice,but portion size small for the money paid for it,i have to think if i would eat there again concerning this as i have own 2 restaurants in london in the past,carl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl_eric77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

On my goodness, what a perfect treat found via TZ; the room - both decor and facilities, staff, garden were lovely and the food although a bit insubstantial in the tasting menu in places. We had matching wines and in all honesty we could not of wished for more of an overnight stay... breakfast was divine, just left too full and to bursting point. and yes, dishes a bit slow to be cleared, but they were full! Book it and go, the little high street is only a hop, skip and a jump away... have lunch at their sister cafe in the town ... lovely! Carolyn

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow room...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing