We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best deal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best deal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the end of Feb. on a £99 "Travelzoo" deal. Our room was "Willow", which overlooks the garden, it is classed as a superior room, excellent size with bath & separate power shower. They provided excellent coffee/ tea & biscuits. The evening meal was superb, we had the tasting menu, which was on display outside of the hotel & priced at £45 pp. Breakfast was again superb all locally sourced products & cooked to perfection. All this for £99. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I would happily pay full price! Well done "The Eastbury" faultless staff, hotel & restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Willow" very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    162
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
431
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

eating at the restaurant,food very nice,but portion size small for the money paid for it,i have to think if i would eat there again concerning this as i have own 2 restaurants in london in the past,carl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl_eric77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

On my goodness, what a perfect treat found via TZ; the room - both decor and facilities, staff, garden were lovely and the food although a bit insubstantial in the tasting menu in places. We had matching wines and in all honesty we could not of wished for more of an overnight stay... breakfast was divine, just left too full and to bursting point. and yes, dishes a bit slow to be cleared, but they were full! Book it and go, the little high street is only a hop, skip and a jump away... have lunch at their sister cafe in the town ... lovely! Carolyn

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow room...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in superior room (Willow)for one night-half price with Travel Zoo including 7 course taster menu.Brilliant bargain.Food delicious and quite an experience in itself-we seemed to have similar menu to Nicola-Dorset but We couldn't fault it. .Breakfast above average also.Room spacious with nice big shower and good toiletries.Nice touch of coffee perculator,dressing gowns slippers
Usually stay in Mr & Mrs smith hotels so used to good standard-in fact suggested they join them-was quite impressed all round.Not sure about some of the un favourable reviews since I would call us" fussy "customers but we would recommend it especially at half price!!!
Sherbourne itself very interesting little village with independant shops ,restaurants and pubs.Will go again

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrade like us and certainly worth it in summerly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVONNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is very quiet, so perfect for a getaway from the kids with the other half!
Easy check-in on arrival and shown to our room, 'Yew'.
Yew is an upgrade to luxury, with a spa bath, flimsy slippers, dressing gown and a sweet private courtyard with patio furniture.
Staying in the hotel was my brother and sister in-law, they had a superior room. On nosing in to their room, we wouldn't have bothered with an upgrade as theirs was lovely too!
Being winter and only 2degrees, we only looked at the garden from inside...this must be lovely in the summertime with outside patio seating etc.
All the staff were friendly enough, but not as friendly and relaxed as I'd expected for a small hotel...don't get me wrong though, they are friendly and helpful, but seemed to be there doing a job and not a passion.
We had the the taster menu with wine flight. Each course was tasty, but to be honest not to the standard that all the awards seem to point to. Same with the wine, no different to what we buy at home.
Breakfast was ok, rather on the small side, nothing to shout about.
Checking out.....Oh my word what a crazy palaver and really did almost spoil the stay. The bill didn't make sense, we were being charged £75 for a few bar drinks!
Even the guy on reception didn't seem to have a clue what was going on. After taking off things we shouldn't have been charged for, we are actually £4 something in credit!!!!!!
It would appear we were overcharged when the booking was made. Check you bills....I nearly paid £75 over the top!!
To summarise....nice hotel, very quiet. Lovely area. Nice enough staff but something missing...oh, and check your bills!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamessalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this through Travel Zoo and were really looking forward to it as we had heard good things about the hotel, things started well reception was excellent and our room was at the back over looking the garden so nice and quiet. Good bathroom and comfortable bed so no complaints there. We booked to eat in the restaurant as it has 2AA stars and had the tasting menu. That's when things started to go wrong, the first course was good bur after that things just went down hill, next course goats cheese ok but to serve it with water melon that is almost tasteless,not good. Then followed by cured mackerel, ok is all I could say. Next the meat course of very over cooked burger in very greasy slices of rosti, Fillet steak again over cooked not even slightly pink! and a portion of beef shin which was the best bit. I found out after that the fillet steak had been cooked in a water bath, Yes it was tender but then fillet steak should be. As a chef myself I would only ever sear fillet steak in a very hot pan and ask the customer how they like it cooked. Water baths seem to be the favorite way of cooking everything these days but it will not always work with some dishes. Of the two desserts one was all right the other can only be described as crumbs of burnt tasting carrot cake with a very bland almost tasteless topping. We also found out that the head chef was off that night, so who ever was in charge was simply not up to the job.

The dining room is totally lacking in any form of character, bland walls no pictures anywhere only a couple of mirrors one of which the silvering on the back was going. The room did not feel welcoming in anyway at all.

Next morning there was a lack of hot water for the shower, that affected several people we found out. Breakfast was very slow, I had earl grey tea, when I asked for another pot I again asked for earl grey but received English breakfast, only a small point but it was not what I requested. The staff left several tables covered in used crockery from previous guests, no effort to clear them until end of breakfast, not good.

Would we go back again, probably not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholadorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms were very nice! Well maintained and cleaned. My collegue on the other hand did not feel the same. He had a 'king sized' bed which consist of two uneven sized single bed.

My room was very nice, the bath room was a nice size. The food in the restaurant was very well cooked! I cannot emphasize more on how nice the staff were. The service was 5 star standard.

The only down side was the shower (the bath was nice though). There was never enough hot water in the shower... Takes about 2-3 mins to warm up and by the time you get it, it gets cold again. But if you are into baths and stuff, it would be fine for you.

I had no idea how much it costs as my boss paid for it.

Overall, the stay was brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYSTERlON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing