We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. Food excellent. Had taster menu with wine flight - so so good!
Lovely use of local produce. Breakfast excellent. Rooms very comfortable with lovely beds! Very pleasant gardens. Well situated as few mins walk to centre of Sherborne shops etc. Staff very helpful. You'll be sure of a lovely stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetButtercups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 697 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Having enjoyed the last two days at the Eastbury we could not fault any aspect of our stay . Maybe we enjoyed our food too much ! Taster menu superb, breakfast amazingly good, choice and service second to none. We will return

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fibencasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although the weather was not at its best, Sherborne and the Eastbury Hotel were a delight. We went with friends and had the two attic rooms to ourselves. It was perfect for us and we felt self contained. When we come again we will ask for the same rooms. The tasting menu lived up to the expectation of the menu on the website. My husband does not eat beef and I mailed ahead to ask if it was possible to have an alternative. On the night he was offered a lamb dish which was also spectacular and appeared with no reminder,fuss or bother. All the staff were very helpful, bottled water in the room was a nice touch.Thank you all for a special weekend.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and seclusion with no passing footfall choose the attic rooms as long as you are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our recent two night stay included the taster dinner. This proved to be imaginative, varied, tasty and ample with a vegetarian option provided with a few hours notice. Breakfasts, too, were as ample as you wished - we ate nothing more until late afternoon - with a good variety of very well cooked dishes. The local produce enhanced the food ensuring good flavours. 'Locally sourced' does not always give flavoursome food - here it did.

Staff attitudes were just right - polite, cheerful, friendly and efficient. Rooms were spotlessly clean. Our original room had a bed that would have been too soft for us but it was no problem to change to a room with a firmer mattress (though, because the windows were obscure glazed, there was no view out - if the hotel have a £1,000 or so to spare then an additional rooflight above eaves height would enhance the room). Good sized bathroom included a double ended bath. The room was very quiet but - for this more elderly inhabitant - would have benefitted from at least one brighter lamp to more easily read by.

All in all, excellent value - it was the Travelzoo offer - and an hotel that we would like to return to especially if the weather meant being able to enjoy the well tended walled gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms vary considerably in location and aspect - worth checking on arrival or taking note of other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Observer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Another fantastic Travelzoo deal and this hotel is really lovely. We had Bluebell room and our friends had Anemone which were in the attics. Our room was very comfortable with a really comfy bed with soft sheets. Nice room extas and we had a good nights sleep as it was very quiet. The tasting menu was excellent and the wine flight was almost too good as it made the climb up the stairs quite tricky! Breakfast was another treat and my only complaint was the bacon was a bit overcooked for my taste. We would love to go back here again as all the staff were so fiendly and helpful that they made you feel very special. Thank-you very much EastburyHotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband was in Sherborne on business for two weeks so he invited me to join him for just over a week. Our first two nights we were in a wonderfully comfortable room named Quince! Great comfort and quiet! We left for the weekend and when we returned they placed us in Cottage One, which was fantastic. We had a "whole" house to ourselves and yet still had breakfast included etc.
This is a wonderful hotel. The staff go above the call of duty to see to a guest's comfort, they are very friendly and helpful. In the rooms are bottled water daily (still and fizzy) tea and coffee and hot chocolate and the best is the biscuits!
The only issue we had the entire time is the lack of consistently strong internet! Being on business my husband really needed this and for me this is how I stay in touch with my kids so that was a bit of a struggle.
I would return to this hotel at anytime and be very happy there. Sherborne is a great town to explore from here also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csbsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Eastbury Hotel before and are on their mailing list, they sent us a special deal for last weekend. The room (Elder) was a standard room but was brilliant!! Tea, coffee, bottled water and home made biscuits awaited us. The tasting menu was fab and the staff warm and welcoming. This hotel is a little gem and Sherborne itself is a lovely town - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: $189 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing