We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Enjoyable Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just come back from a Travelzoo deal at this hotel and what a lovely time we had. We had the 7 course taster menu which, although not to everyone's taste, was a great experience. The courses are not large, by ant stretch of the imagination, but after all 7 you don't feel as though you need more; however we did opt for the additional cheese board (an extra £8.50 each) which was well worth it. Unless you can eat a lot of cheese, one between two is enough.

We also had the wine flight which means you get an assortment of wines with almost every course. It starts off with a glass of Prosecco sparkling with the first course, you then get two different glasses of white with the next two courses followed by a glass of red with the 5th meat course and then a very nice glass of dessert wine (which is not too sweet) with the 6th. It costs £20 which is quite reasonable.

The breakfast the next day was excellent and finished off what was a very enjoyable stay.

The hotel is very well positioned, with it's own car park, and has very pleasant and very helpful staff. The rooms were lovely and clean with large beds and delightful Egyptian cotton sheets. We were in the Quince room which overlooked the rear garden and could not have expected more.

We would recommend this to anyone and were only too sad to leave early as we would have liked to have stayed for the Sunday brunch with accompanying jazz music which sounded great!

Room Tip: Our friends had the room next to us which was called Delphinium which was a lovely room and actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    160
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
430
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from experencing their 7 course taster menu. Absolutely delicious with when added to their selected 5 or was it 6 glasses of wine for an extra £20 per head made for a truly enjoyable evening. The rooms weren't bad either. This is a really lovely small hotel with a personal touch because of it's size. We were a party of 6 and they looked after us very well. A truly enjoyable stay with a breakfast to die for!! As General Mcarthur said 'I (we) shall return'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had the 7 course tasting menu wow it was fab, can thorougly recommend the carrot cake dessert it is like nothing you will have had before. Well done to the Chef.
Breakfast also first class. Hotel was very nice and the staff were attentive would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We met friends at a half way point between our home in Devon and theirs in Hants, to continue our tradition of exchanging joviality as well as presents in the run up to Christmas. We suspect a new tradition might have kicked off, and will be looking to book again this coming December.

Like several people on here, we were availing ourselves of the TravelZoo offer, and were delightfully surprised by the standard of rooms, service and cuisine. Don't take our word for it, just book, and absorb the relaxed atmosphere in this lovely retreat.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ever_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

we went there on a travelzoo offer. as we are foodies and love wine / mainly attracted by the seven course gastro dinner with matching wines. Upgraded the offer to stay in a Superior room and turned up not knowing quite what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise. our room was really huge / all amenities provided including dressing gowns.
Lovely big bed / all in all better than we expected.
The seven course dinner was spectacular .. 30 people in the restaurant enjoying really special food / with great wines to accompany. Some absolutely fabulous tastes going on ... which we loved ..
Then an English breakfast to die for ... organic/ local / massive tastes and quite delicious/ meaning no room for lunch !!
Definitely a hugely repeatable experience and we were made to feel so very welcome by all the staff who worked very hard to make us enjoy our weekend.

Room Tip: we paid the extra for a superior room / brand new bathroom and spotless .. worth the extra and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidinbmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Took advantage of a Travelzoo taster menu offer. The weather was atrocious in the West Country but we decided to chance it and we are very glad we did. We had the Geranium room which was very comfortable, not huge but plenty big enough and lovely and warm. We took the opportunity to add the wine package to our taster menu. The food was absolutely superb and the wine choices were inspired. All in all probably one of the best meals we have had. Hotel in a great location for looking round the beautiful town of Sherborne . Will certainly like to come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been given the "nacissus" room: is not a room is a dog house. The cieling is less than 6,5 foot high and a truss in the middle of the room lowers the cieling at 6 feet.The size of the room is ridicolous,the internet is so slow that can not open any page. The walls are thin and you hear what is going on the other rooms. There is no electric plug in the bathroom for electric shaving. The breakfast is very good and the dining room and bar very pretty however allow one hour for the breakfast since the service is extremely slow. I had a real break"slow".

Room Tip: Aviod "Narcissus" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefano b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing