We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Eastbury Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor(Yeovil)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Preston Bed & Breakfast(Yeovil)(Great Value!)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$66
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
473
174
51
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
174
51
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuwine flighttaster mealsuperior roomsecret escapestravelzoo dealseparate showerhomemade biscuitslovely hotelone night staynext morningamazing foodan overnight staylocal produceshort breakpretty townbeautiful town
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 718 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the Eastbury with friends on a fantastic rate, which included the 7 course sample menu.
We upgraded to superior rooms which were in the gardens outside the hotel, just opposite the door to the dining room. One friend has walking difficulties & the room provided on the ground floor was perfect - everything on the level, walk in shower with seat & grab bars. Both rooms had cafetieres, robes & lovely soft towels. They were spacious & the bathrooms, with under floor heating, were immaculate & modern.
Now the food: an absolute delight & a true gourmet experience. The restaurant (on a Thursday night) was almost empty & the service we received was top rate. Everything was cooked to order & to perfection. We did not take the recommended wines for each course but the wine we did have was very good.
The gardens are beautiful & well tended - had it not rained pretty consistently it would have been nice to sit out on one of the many tables with parasols.
Sherborne has a variety of shops & tea/coffee shops, & is pleasant to walk around, although busy.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Eastbury as a great place to stay, but do try the food as it really is exceptional.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a superior room as they seem a lot more spacious. Our room, Rowan, had a quite noisy extractor unit opposite but this stopped at 10.45pm & did not come on until 6.45am, but when in operation it can be heard.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Having stayed at the Eastbury before we took 2 friends for Sunday lunch.
The restaurant was busy but not full so we did not have to wait too long for our drinks. However 2 of the glasses still had lipstick marks from previous use on them. These were quickly changed for clean galsses by the waitress.
The food was well cooked and beautifully presented and very flavoursome. In between courses we were presented with small samples of other dishes that the Chef was testing which was a nice touch.
The overall experience was a good one and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtdsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Eastbury for a 40th Birthday. The room was a little cosy but had everything you needed. Comfy bed and warm shower. Had a great night with old friends and the gardens are wonderful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and more importantly the staff were friendly and attentive what more do people want? We would definetely go back next time we are in Sherborne.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thabamorula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I live in Sherborne and my elderly mother wishes to come and stay this Spring. Our accommodation is totally unsuitable as stairs are a problem for my mother.
We went to see The Eastbury and were given a fully guided tour of all the rooms by very obliging and friendly staff.
We decide to have a drink in the bar while we read all the information on the hotel and living in Sherborne were very pleased to discover that drinks prices at The Eastbury are really very reasonable. So often hotels get your custom and then rip you off on extortionate bar tariffs.
The restaurant was busy and this was a week day lunch.
Very impressed and will give more advice once members of our family have been to stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website some rooms are far better than others but the staff will advise you when booking
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We visited this hotel three days ago for two nights - our third visit. This time we took an elderly friend and were anxious that the standard had remained the same. I am delighted to say that it was just as good as ever! The bedroom was pretty and clean, and overlooked the garden (although our bathroom could do with a bit of an update - having said this, it was perfectly adequate with lovely fluffy towels, robes and toiletries and a HEATED TOWEL RAIL, always a plus for me!). The gardens are well kept and very attractive and the lounge restful and comfortable.Now the food! One of the best hotel breakfasts we have had with gorgeous coffee! The food in the evening was wonderful - innovative and quite delicious - congratulations to the chef! Our elderly friend was equally impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neann2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews