We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glebe House B&B / Self Catering
Ranked #15 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay! Very quiet, clean and comfy room with beautiful views over the countryside. David, Barbara and Poppy (!) are extremely welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. Couldn't ask for more and I would thoroughly recommend Glebe House.

Room Tip: Very quiet location so all rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fillongley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just spent three nights over Easter in the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in.
The house is situated within scenic walking and easy access on foot to an excellent pub . Folke is a haven for cyclists, and nine hole golfers as well as walkers. Sherborne three miles away is a hidden secret with its wonderful abbey.
The hospitality at Glebe House is wonderful, not obtrusive but with so much attention to detail. Breakfast is all homemade and the choice of fruit and yoghurt to start with including a whole jug of organge juice between two was a real treat. The welcome tea was delicious and the cooked breakfasts excellent. Replenishment of milk in the room was welcome and the room itself immaculate and comfortable. We wholeheartedly recommend this bed and breakfast establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

A lovely, welcoming B&B, with amazing breakfasts and beautiful Dorset countryside! Fresh milk in the room was very welcome & much nicer than UHT!

Very quiet location, and the room was large and spacious. Very comfy bed! I would highly recommend this B&B, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thank you!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent two nights here. David and Barbara were welcoming and generous in their hospitality. The house is secluded and quiet and the setting and views from all rooms are beautiful. Our room and shower room were immaculate and the breakfasts included many choices and homemade items. We agree with the other reviewers and would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palludian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in the gorgeous Coral room, which had absolutely stunning views across the countryside. The house was immaculate, very clean and tidy with a lovely atmosphere and the hosts were friendly, interesting and extremely welcoming. The homemade scones and tea on arrival were delicious and breakfast the following morning a real treat too. Delicious all round. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed a very comfortable night at Glebe House with a friend. Clean, comfortable, cosy and full of charm with wonderful hosts who greeted us with warm hospitality, delicious home made food and good chatter.

Glebe House comes highly recommended set amidst beautiful Dorset with its own garden and landscape views. It's a great place to come home to at the end of a hearty walk and we left in the morning feeling quite refreshed =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The accomodation at Glebe House was immaculate.
Both bedrooms had great views of the countryside.
We were given tea and scones on arrival, and made to feel very welcome.
The breakfast was superb.
We would not hesitate to recommend Glebe House.
Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.5 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Clare Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe House B&B / Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe House B&B / Self Catering

Property: Glebe House B&B / Self Catering
Address: Folke Lane, Sherborne DT9 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glebe House is a former country rectory located in a peaceful, rural location in the heart of Thomas Hardy's beautiful Blackmore Vale. The tiny hamlet of Folke, with its charming sixteenth-century church and abandoned medieval settlement, is just three miles from the ancient abbey town of Sherborne and within easy driving distance of the Dorset coast. We offer high quality four star bed and breakfast as well as self catering accommodation. All of our rooms are en suite and have wonderful panoramic views over the beautiful Dorset countryside. Enjoy tea and scones in the garden room on arrival; relax over breakfast in our dining room in front of the wood burner; make use of our free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe House B&B / Self Catering Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing