We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous place”
other travelers have booked this property
Summers day at The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn The Stables and winter log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn
The Stables and winter log store
Sumptuous kings size bed with deep 1400 pocket sprung mattress and soft 400 count pure cotton linen.
Cosy living area and breakfast room
Log burner and ample supply of logs for cold winter nights! Stables doors open to a sunny patio.
Well Equipped Kitchen.
Modern Bathroom With Large Shower.
Nothing better than a Summer complimentary Cream tea if your ETA is between 2.30 and 5.00pm
Our home and The Stables
View of the paddock
Some of the animals who share our paddock
More Of Clare Cottage
Orphan Lambs
The Beautiful Valley We Call Home
If You Are Up Early Our Sunrise Can Be Breath Taking Too.
The Stunning Sunests At The Village Of Stowell.
What Ever The Weather Is Doing There Is Always A Warm Welcome At The Stables At Clare Cottage.
For A Special Occasion Why Not Take A Balloon Ride
The Arresting  Beauty Of The Jurassic Coast.  Taken From Above The Village Of Abbotsbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dianne S
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous place”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My 11yr old daughter and I returned from staying at The Stables yesterday. We had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend staying here. It's peaceful and very well equipped and the owner was very welcoming. My only grumble is that I wished we'd booked for a bit longer
We visited Monkey World, Weymouth and Wookey Hole Caves during our short stay and enjoyed every second of it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2015
Happy to hear you had a good time - people don't realise how much there is to do down here! If you decide to visit again ....don't forget to go to Longleat and if it's the first Sunday of the month there is a fantastic market at Frome selling everything from homemade fudge to local meats and cheeses and beautifully hand crafted things for the home.. 11.00am to 4.00pm you will be there all day as the shops are open too! Sorry we weren't around much... we had to get our boat out of the water on the Wednesday - but so pleased you had some sun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael65...
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Trying to combine our visite to the Steamfair and Beaulieu with the Jurassic coast it's a perfect located stay. Sarah is a very friendlly person and we liked our six day stay very much. Soryy it's not a B&B but at our start Sarah provided thouch a starting breakfast. Thanks a lot.
Yes in Dutch we wil say:
een geweldige locatie en een prachtig verblijf!!!
Groeten,

Anja en Michaël uit Meeuwen (NL)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
What a lovely couple, thank you for your review, I am pleased you managed to fit everything you wanted into your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend!”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a fantastic place to stay! we loved it and will definitely be returning! Don't want to say too many good things as I'd rather keep this place for myself, but as you've probably gathered, its great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed! The wi-fi, CD/radio/aux, well equipped kitchen, everything really!
Liked least: It was all good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Wonderful .. thanks for that, so pleased guests feel it should be just for them...it means we got it right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole D
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have had a wonderful week at the Stables we could not fault it, owners Sarah and David went out of their way to make us so welcome treating us more like friends than visitors to their business. Everything was spotless with lovely furnishings and the best nights sleep in years !. It was wonderful to wake up open the door and look over a beautiful paddock with lambs, chickens and geese not forgetting the two very friendly cats George and Iitty (missing them) . The cream tea waiting for us on arrival was most welcome and really delicious we cannot thanks you enough you are prefect hosts and we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
What a lovely couple you are. We did so enjoy having you to stay, the cats are missing you especially George!
You left my holiday let the way that I do when I go away, from new bin liners in the bins to a clean shower and fridge...how lovely - it made my day - thank you. I have never turned round my holiday let so fast!
We really look forward to having you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Couldn't fault a thing! Beautiful surroundings, friendly owners and everything we needed for a lovely break away - even a cream tea on arrival, a lovely touch! We will definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Definitely the log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2015
Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and got to know this part of the country a bit. There is still plenty more to discover, so do come and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You couldn't want for more”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Stables having read all the glowing reviews, we didn't actually stay in that particular accommodation due to the owners kindness to a lady in need who had moved into the hamlet and found her new home unfurnished. We were upgraded to the Tack Room which was beautiful in every way. Clare cottage accommodation as a whole is beautiful, all well maintained and well thoughtout. The bed is as comfortable as all the reviews say. Thank you very much to Sarah (the owner) who was helpful and thoughtful - we had a night cap all provided as we were a late arrival.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Thank you for accepting the upgrade, it really helped out.. and gave us a nice oportunity to show you our new property which we are very proud of. The Tack Room (and Middle Stable) does make our accommodation more flexible for families and friends to stay together especially for wedding parties and birthday celebrations when extended family may be visiting the area together, as it enables people to be together but in their own space. We enjoyed having you, do come and see us again ... I should have taken out shares in the mattress company!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roving805...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Romantic retreat.”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just had a Very relaxing weekend at the Stables and we can't fault a thing about it. A nice warm welcome from Sarah and her Husband, then shown around the Stables and to be left to settle in and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and comfortable interior. Sarah and her Husband were fantasic hosts and were there if we needed anything at all without being intrusive, we felt relaxed throughout our stay with the warmth of the log burner and the most comfortable bed. Zzz lush. Everything was clean and spotless, all down to taking pride in what they do. Sarah provided excellent communication from the first contact and throughout the booking. Thankyou both so much. X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
Thank you both for a lovely review, you are such a lovely couple and we really did enjoyed having you...we do hope you will come and visit again soon! Thank you so very much for leaving The Stables spotless, it was a joy to walk in there when you left. I don't think I am supposed to advertise on this response, so I will send the name of the mattress to your e-mail address. Have a wonderful Summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing