We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Britannia Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with some friends and had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you need. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome. Sherborne itself is a beautiful town and the Britannia Inn is in a very good location. Make sure you book for the Thai restaurant as the food is fantastic and the restaurant busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    6
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
59
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey , England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had the please of staying here last Saturday night and was very pleased. Room was a good size, with large TV, coffee and tea facilities and a very comfortable bed. Downstairs the pub served well kept real ales, the thai food was excellent and the landlord very friendly. Make sure you book in advance for the thai as it was fully booked on the night we stayed, but thankfully the landlord did manage to squeeze us in. Sherborne has a wonderful must-see 10th century abbey, and a lot of history, and the Britannia is just 2 minutes away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. The new landlord has been there for 12 weeks and is dragging the inn into shape and trying to make the restaurant business work too. We ate there in the Thai restaurant but were in the back room, which is the inn's breakfast room, as the main room was full. The Thai food was good but the rest of the place needs a refurb, which it is currently undergoing so it would be unfair to criticise further. The landlord is a nice chap and seems to know the business so I think the place will improve over the quieter months and be properly sorted by next spring. Comfortable room but needs some work on the decor, which as I say has started in the bars and is moving though the building. Very good breakfast with morning papers and a nice touch with complimentary biscuits, drinks chocolate in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a fantastic place to spend a few days in a beautiful location situated in the centre of town, only 5 minute walk from the railway station. The staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help and advise. The room was clean and comfortable and had all amenities one could ask for, including a large TV with freeview channels. The Inn has a large bar area and excellent real ale, in the adjacent room is a Thai restaurant. The Thai green curry was exquisite, portions were generous and the flavours were divine. Always a good idea to book, particularly for busy times as this is a small restaurant.

I would definitely recommend this Inn and look forward to returning with the family.

Thank you Andy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This day and age one does not expect a twin room cosing £69.99 a night, for it to be without hanging space (not even a hook on the back of the door), or a bedside table, or a lamp, or a mirror, or a wash basin. The only furnishing 2 iron bedsteds, a melamine bookeshelf and what looked like a small backless tv cabinet. (Thank goodness for the TV and Kettle). However filling this kettle (remember there was no basin) was difficult as the shared bathroom was on the other side of the building, down badly lit corridors and up and down flights of steps, and it was continually occupied!

I was unable to wash and makeup before going out to dinner (remember no mirror in room) and also unable to wash in morning before breakfast. Luckily there was a separate toilet, but no where to wash your hands!! (remember no basin in room either!).

To be fair the new management did produce a cloths rail and lamp which we stood on an upturned waste bin. The room was clean and the bedding was ok but I think most guests would consider this room substandard, very sparten and cell like, a bit like when the poor girls lived there!!

Room Tip: Check you have an ensuite - a shared bathroom is a nightmare - the only time i saw it was when I cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently my husband and I had the good fortune to find the Britannia Inn in beautiful Sherborne. Having initially intended to stay for one night, we ended up staying THREE! The proprietor was so welcoming and helpful, advising us where to visit and what to see and indeed, in this area there is so much to see. Not only was the room most comfortable, we also enjoyed the very large and delicious breakfasts. Thank you, Btitannia Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great Staff and friendly people! Thanks for all your help and for looking after me! Room was everything I required, very clean and had plenty of space and everything I required. Perfect location in the centre of Sherborne near to everywhere. Pub is a quaint friendly feeling building, Noise was no problem, I will deffinately return when next passing through Sherborne. Thanks again! Chloe

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clofern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn Hotel

Property: The Britannia Inn Hotel
Address: | Westbury, Sherborne DT9 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Inn Hotel is an 18th century building that was originally a school house for girls which opened in 1743 and was funded by the then Lord Digby. A character structure, this is located all but a stones throw from Sherborne Abbey and only a five minute walk from the train station.There are other local attractions found in this historic town such as Sherborne House, the home of Lord Digby, Sherborne Castle, former home of Sir Walter Raleigh as well as many which are within an hours journey such as Shaftesbury, the Cerne Abbas Giant, Dorchester and Shepton Mallet. Wincanton Racecourse is just half an hour away and we can arrange transport for you should you wish to make a day of it and spend your winnings on a celebratory drink or two!We offer a choice of rooms, double, family, twin and single and provide an extensive breakfast menu to set you up for the day ahead. After your day you can relax with a drink from our choice of award winning real ales, fine wines, Brandy and Whisky. We also have our own restaurant The Dining Room,which serves modern British cuisine seven days a week. Free wireless internet access and all rooms have freeview TV's plus tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your The Britannia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing