We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, great location”
Review of Cumberland House

Cumberland House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland House
Ranked #10 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lovely little B&B at the top of the high street in Sherborne. Stayed for 1 night only but would have happily stayed for longer. Good breakfast with a great selection of cereals and jams. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Cumberland House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were booked for one night only. The location suited us well. But be warned. If you arrive by car, you have to enter at the back of the property. There IS a place to park: turn into Priestlands Lane, and at the top of the lane fork left. The parking spot is the third on the left thereafter. Entrance is then by the back gate, which has a retaining latch high up - put your hand over the top of the gate to find it. The garden that greets you is quaint and charming.
The owner greeted us warmly, and the dog presents no problems -a friendly creature. We had booked the room which IS en suite. It is up a fairly tight flight of stairs: not suitable for anyone who is disabled. We were charmed by our room. Everything was spotlessly clean and carefully laid out, the bed was large and comfortable, and the shower (within a bath) had idiot-proof controls and worked well, as did the TV. All very functional.
You will be asked to choose what you want for breakfast the night before. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and served bang on time - we were on a tight Sunday morning schedule.
We were made to feel most welcome, and were treated as 'house guests'.
The Abbey is within easy walking distance (less than 15 minutes) and Sherborne is best toured on foot. It's downhill to the centre, and a bit of a climb coming back.
But a fine, olde-worlde property in which to stay. Unless you are going to head out of Sherborne, it is best to leave your car where it is until you really need it.
Strongly recommended for folk who like something a wee bit out of the common rut but at the same time wish to be warm, comfortable, and to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granitemannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was indeed a lovely place to stay, and the hostess looked after us very well. But beware that the room does exactly what it says it does - the room we stayed in did indeed have a "private shower room" but this was down a corridor, and the room is not en suite. Liking our privacy, we wouldn't have booked there had we realised, but the room was clean and the breakfast excellent.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed in Sherborne a few times over the years and this was by far the best place I have stayed. Really central and great accommodation, with super friendly owner. Great Breakfast good clean and comfortable room, could not fault it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The history of Cumberland House goes back many centuries, but it has been thoughtfully transformed into a spacious, clean and comfortable place to stay, with just a couple of oddities.

One cannot park a car in front of Cumberland House, even to unload, because the pavement is several feet higher than the road. The parking area is behind the house and is accessed along a narrow lane. From the parking area one walks down through the back garden to the back door, but the path through the back garden includes three sets of stone steps and so I do not think this accommodation would be suitable for disabled or unsteady people.

I had the "Double Bedroom with Private Shower Room", which means that the shower room is separate from the bedroom, a few yards along the landing. The bedroom had a large firm-but-comfortable double bed with plenty of space around it. The high ceiling and light-yellow painted walls gave the room an airy feel. The only oddity in the bedroom was the doorway, which had a frame that was not quite rectangular and a shed-style door with a lifting latch. The house has a good heating system, and even during a snowy week in January there was plenty of warmth available.

The bedroom overlooks the "Greenhill" section of the A30 road through Sherborne and so traffic noise is inevitable, but the secondary glazing helps to muffle the traffic noise.

Along the landing I encountered another oddity: a surprisingly-low beam just before I reached the shower room. The shower room contained a toilet, wash-basin and shower-cubicle and was very clean. Plenty of towels were provided, along with some toiletries.

Sandie, the owner, is a very friendly well-spoken lady who is easy to chat to. I would be happy to stay at Cumberland House again next time I need accommodation in Sherborne.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheddargeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sandie is a fantastic host - she couldn't have been more welcoming or accomodating and she makes a great breakfast (including wonderful home made jam).

The rooms at Cumberland House are comfortable and nicely furnished. This does have the nice feeling of staying in a home as opposed to a characterless hotel!

We really enjoyed our two nights in Sherborne and would stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazza_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was a return visit to the Cumberland house as we had such a good time last year there.
The breakfasts were just as good as previously.The bed was really comfortable in there was minimal noise from outside considering its location on Greenhill. We were there for the Jubilee celebrations weekend and the shops were bedecked with red white and blue bunting everywhere! Its such a pleasent village to visit.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as good, but one has the en suiteand the other the bathroom is just a few ste...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#4 of 24 in Sherborne
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#9 of 24 in Sherborne
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House

Address: Cumberland House Greenhill, Sherborne DT9 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range: $101 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumberland House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing