We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fleur de Lys

La Fleur de Lys
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $44
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We established the restaurant here in Shaftesbury over 20 years ago & have built up an enviable reputation for fine cuisine using some of the best quality ingredients to be found both locally & from afar, all expertly prepared & cooked to order by David & Marc. We invite you to come & enjoy a delicious Lunch or Dinner. Why don't you look at the current menus and wine list and choose what you will eat today.All dishes are cooked fresh to order by David & Marc, we cater for all tastes and diets but should you not find something you like from our menus, then please do ring to discuss your requirements. We will do our best to accommodate you. We also cater for small parties or groups and have weddings facilities for up to 40 Persons.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've visited La Fleur de Lys three times now and each occasion has been an excellent experience. The service, selection and food has been top notch. They clearly pay attention to detail and appreciate that in the best restaurants, the experience starts from the moment you enter through to when you leave and everything in between needs to be just right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    19
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

WHY advertise a price for a 2 and 3 course meal and then put a supplement on half the starters and mains.on the menu.
Shame because the food was very good as was the service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryEmms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience in our restaurant We always welcome feed back. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your evening with us & look forward to your visiting us again.
In respect of supplements on the menu, we used to offer a limited choice 2 & 3 course fixed price & an a la carte menu in the evening but many guests got confused as to if they can switch between menus, so we combined the menus offering at least 3 choices on each course at a fixed price without any supplements & the remaining dishes with a small supplement the maximum being £3.50, Most of the guests we have asked since introducing this over the past 2 years have preferred this option as they say it makes choosing clearer & easier, however we do welcome your input & will continue to monitor comments to improve where we can.

Many thanks once again for your input

Kindest Regards

David & Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Food and Service here are 2nd to none,theres nothing else to say.
We have been there twice so far on a Saturday and will definately be going back,
They dont do meals on Sunday nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect anniversary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

At every point the meal was perfection. Every dish was crafted with care, and we were attentively but not disruptively cared for. It really is a hidden gem; in some ways it felt more like visiting someone for tea than a usual restaurant meal. If I had any criticism it would be the meal was relatively costly, but the standard of the food justified it. Book early as they fill up fast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit of fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want somewhere for a special dinner La Fleur de Lys is the place to go in Shaftesbury. It might look a bit formal from the outside, but it's comfortable and relaxed and all the staff are very friendly, and efficient. The food is really good. Not 'challenging' as seems to the trend these days ( I don't want to be challenged when I go out to eat), but intersting - things I wouldn't have thought of perhaps - there were great flavour combinations. We had the scallops starter, followed by wild boar and I had veal (not had this for years but it's English rose veal so that was alright) - it melted in the mouth. The deserts are everything deserts should be - indulgent or comforting, or both. For any smokers out there, there's a lovely little garden at the back. Very pleasant on a summer's evening with a coffee, a good Armagnac, and the relaxing trickle of the water feature. And excellent value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fleur de Lys also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing