We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be faulted”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stay in over 50 hotels, guest houses and B&Bs every year, and the Chalet simply can't be faulted. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, with everything a traveller needs - including fresh milk for tea and coffee. We stayed two nights as a base to undertake a magazine article on the area. The Chalet is only a few minutes walk from the town centre and has ample parking. If all this wasn't enough, the breakfasts are superb. If you are on business like us, or on holiday, I have no hesitation in recommending the Chalet. Take no notice of the one negative review, it comes from before the present owners took over 3 years ago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
54
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We can't say enough good things about our stay at the Chalet! We stayed in all three rooms and they were all spacious, clean and decorated beautifully. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! They were made from local produce and the eggs were straight from the coop outside. But above all was the hospitality. Anne and Doug were so lovely and always went the extra mile with everything. Our holiday wouldn't have been as great as it was if it wasn't for their local knowledge...where all the best pubs were! As the motto above the fireplace reads "enter as strangers, leave as friends".

Room Tip: The Gold Room felt particularly light and spacious, and may have had the biggest en suite. The Laven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, I.W.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Chalet. Anne and Doug made us very welcome - nothing is too much trouble. The beds were very comfortable and it was really quiet. The breakfast is amazing! Lovely fresh fruit, etc. and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts. Nice to have parking space too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed in loads of B&Bs and this is one of the best and excellent value for money. We were in the Gold Room which is really comfortable - light, warm, clean and spacious with the welcome addition of two easy chairs. Anne and Doug are very good hosts and the breakfasts are beautifully cooked and served. Dont be put off by its proximity to the main road - it means its easy to get to and you can't hear the traffic. Centre of Shaftesbury is just a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 613karenm613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emneth wisbech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed with Anne and Doug three times in the last three months, a family matter needed return visits. You really cannot fault the hospitality in any way. Rooms, food, cleanliness and the very warm welome of tea and cake just the icing on the cake so to speak!
We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Shaftesbury, on our next visit it will be like retuning to very welcome friends. Thankyou Anne and Doug!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We never think twice where to stay in Shaftesbury as in our opinion The Chalet is 5 star.

This is our third stay at the Chalet and Anne and Doug always give such a warm welcome and each time it seems better and better if that is possible.

We have stayed in the Gold room and the Lavender room and the attention to detail is wonderful, everything you think you need is provided.

We have stayed in many hotels and can honestly say some were not of the same standard of comfort and cleanliness. We must not forget to mention the breakfast, the selection and choice is wonderful. We have actually booked another three stays this year and are looking forward to them. Anne & Doug are a really wonderful couple who cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed just for one night. We were picking up our son for his half term break and were only looking for basic accomodation, but we found ourselves just like at home! Anne and Doug are excellent hosts, offering really nice accomodation, excellent English breakfast, all kinds of details like cookies and hot drinks on our late arrival, and charming hospitality for a very reasonable price. We would really recommend this lovely Bed & Breakfast for anyone travelling to Shaftesbury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chalet Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Chalet Christys Lane, Shaftesbury SP7 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing