We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Dibbens cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dibben's cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Back garden
View of side garden from bedroom
Master Bedroom
Garden bedroom
Double bedroom
Enjoy the view from the kitchen sink
The kitchen
The spacious first floor sitting room
The sitting room has a functioning fireplace
The dining room
The view into the neighbouring field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cheetah23
Bridgetown, Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Dibbens cottage”
Reviewed September 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed at Dibbens cottage over the summer with our two young boys, and we loved it so much. It’s the prettiest cottage I have ever seen with lovely gardens and plenty of good hiding places for the children to play. There are lots of lovely fruit trees too, so great for making lots of crumbles. The location is brilliant too, close enough to the loveliest village shop for emergency supplies or to get milk from the farm, but isolated enough to enjoy the privacy and peacefulness of the countryside.
The children loved staying in the cottage. It is really well equipped for children and has fantastic board games jigsaws, DVD’s, footballs, trains sets, building blocks and loads of great books to read. There is also a high chair, stair gate, cot, and children’s cups plates and cutlery.
We loved coming home to Dibbens after a day out or a walk to see the cows and sheep in the fields around.
It’s absolutely the best place, we completely fell
in love with its charm and atmosphere and the attention to detail towards us as guests that made us feel at home from the very first day . Thankyou!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorianne1...
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful cottage in the countryside of Semley. I recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. A huge garden for families with children to play. Will sure be visiting in the future and will stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: the carpets very slippery
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Characterful and atmospheric cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A characterful, well equipped cottage, in a beautiful location, close to Semley village. Would appeal to those wishing to stay in an atmospheric cottage, virtually untouched for the last 50+ years. Would benefit from the addition of a shower, although there was plenty of hot water and central heating.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in a time warp”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just spent a very happy ten days feeling "home from home" without the responsibility for the enchanting and spacious garden! This, even at this late stage in the season, was packed with interest and loving care, along with this wonderfully unpretentious and charming cottage which has been in the owner's family since the middle of the last century. Even the piano experienced some use!

We were generously allowed to have dogs with us and it was easy for them to be in the dog- friendly garden and to be kept away from the stairs up to the lovely light and roomy sittingroom. This had a lovely view over the garden and the tops of the heavily laden crab apple trees to the surrounding fields. However, in spite of the fact that we had some great walks, taken from the booklets provided at the cottage, it was not as easy as we had envisaged to walk within any easy distance of the cottage.

Many of our friends and family who were lucky enough to see Dibbens asked how we had discovered it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the rooms and the lovely garden
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurenoha...
athens
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming old world cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved Dibbens and the nearby village of Semley with its cheerful local pub. Good walks on doorstep. Cottage is homely,peaceful,spacious and bookcases are full of interesting browsing. Gardens are charming and rooms are basic but comfortable. We took a dog and recommend walking him not behind house but along lane to left to another footpath at crossroads where he could be let off lead.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewwoodyL...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I never understood the idea of "I can't rate it highly enough" so I'm going to give it a go.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Dibben's is delightful, I strongly recommend it. Much more like visiting friends in the country who have a charming, warm, tasteful house they are generous enough to share than the usual holiday rental, Dibben's is a family home. The house is quirky but well proportioned - we were a party of 4 ( a 3.5 year old, a 19 year old and two parents) and everyone found their own space. The garden is spacious (we were very lucky with the weather for November) and has copious play and relaxing spaces. The area is fascinating - long walks, a nearby walled garden and cafe, a beautiful village (Semley) moments away and then the more obvious draws of Shaftesbury, Salisbury and beyond. Read the owners wise advice about fabulous local places to visit and you'll easily fill up a week long break. Corfe Castle and the south coast were an under the hour drive away. Most of all, when you park outside for the first time, take a moment to look at the outside. This is a place that has been lived in and had lived. Dibben's is a much loved family house and garden and it shows in every path, rose bush, brick, window and hearth. I hope you enjoy as much as we did. dw

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: character
Liked least: having to return to London
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMuss
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idylic cottage set in rural surroundings”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent 3 days at Dibbens Cottage and on arrival we immediatly fell in love with its charm and character it has a wonderful welcoming feel as you walk through the door and didn't take us long to feel at home.
We were allowed to bring the dogs and they loved the pretty garden and surrounding countryside of which there is plenty as the cottage is set in a rural position so very private, just how we like it.
The local pubs are very friendly and not far to walk or drive to, the food is locally sourced and cooked to a high standard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dibbens and were sad to leave, regretting the fact we hadn't booked a longer stay.
I cant recommend Dibbens highly enough as a holiday retreat, it is a beautiful, cosy, charming and well loved cottage that opens its doors and makes you feel warm and secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing