We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I never understood the idea of "I can't rate it...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dibben's cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Back garden
View of side garden from bedroom
Master Bedroom
Garden bedroom
Double bedroom
Enjoy the view from the kitchen sink
The kitchen
The spacious first floor sitting room
The sitting room has a functioning fireplace
The dining room
The view into the neighbouring field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NewwoodyL...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I never understood the idea of "I can't rate it highly enough" so I'm going to give it a go.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Dibben's is delightful, I strongly recommend it. Much more like visiting friends in the country who have a charming, warm, tasteful house they are generous enough to share than the usual holiday rental, Dibben's is a family home. The house is quirky but well proportioned - we were a party of 4 ( a 3.5 year old, a 19 year old and two parents) and everyone found their own space. The garden is spacious (we were very lucky with the weather for November) and has copious play and relaxing spaces. The area is fascinating - long walks, a nearby walled garden and cafe, a beautiful village (Semley) moments away and then the more obvious draws of Shaftesbury, Salisbury and beyond. Read the owners wise advice about fabulous local places to visit and you'll easily fill up a week long break. Corfe Castle and the south coast were an under the hour drive away. Most of all, when you park outside for the first time, take a moment to look at the outside. This is a place that has been lived in and had lived. Dibben's is a much loved family house and garden and it shows in every path, rose bush, brick, window and hearth. I hope you enjoy as much as we did. dw

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: character
Liked least: having to return to London
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMuss
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idylic cottage set in rural surroundings”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent 3 days at Dibbens Cottage and on arrival we immediatly fell in love with its charm and character it has a wonderful welcoming feel as you walk through the door and didn't take us long to feel at home.
We were allowed to bring the dogs and they loved the pretty garden and surrounding countryside of which there is plenty as the cottage is set in a rural position so very private, just how we like it.
The local pubs are very friendly and not far to walk or drive to, the food is locally sourced and cooked to a high standard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dibbens and were sad to leave, regretting the fact we hadn't booked a longer stay.
I cant recommend Dibbens highly enough as a holiday retreat, it is a beautiful, cosy, charming and well loved cottage that opens its doors and makes you feel warm and secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmulv
1 review
“Magical cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful w.e stay at dibbens cottage. we stayed there with my brother in law and family who had come over from New Zealand . We hadn't seen them for 7 years , our children had never met so this was a perfect place to reunite. The cottage is magical and we loved the location esp the views from the lounge window. The gardens are beautiful. The cottage is very well equip and the kids loved all the toys . We hope to return as it is one the loveliest places we have ever stayed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José-Dani...
Leonding, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Place in Semley, Wiltshire/Dorset.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage. Spacious, clean, with a wonderful garden and lots of space for us, our 5 children and our two dogs. Ideal setting "to recharge your batteries"; alone in the country side, but just a few minutes away from Semley Village, 15 Minutes from Shaftesbury and 40 minutes away from magic Stonehenge. The house has all the amenities you need for a tranquil "away from it all" holiday. The owner was very friendly and helpful through e-mail and telephone; the caretaker was always in reach in case of help, and the gardener was a nice person to chat with. We recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to spend time discovering and exploring Wiltshire and Dorset. We were just sorry that we didn't stay any longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size. Peaceful environment.
Liked least: The property could have a tumble dryer for rainy/cold days
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reubrecht...
Fondettes, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English paradise!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Dibbens, the cottage is lovely and very well equipped especially for families, with toys for children, including toys for the garden! We found everything confortable and Constance had ensured that we had information for visiting all the local sites. There is masses to do around Dibbens, we didn't have time to do half of it in a week. I would truly recommend Dibbens cottage either for a wonderful get away and rest from the crowds or as a lovely base for a family holiday - the garden is beautiful, truly English ! We will be returning for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location set in the English countryside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud B
Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
1 review
“A charming old cottage in a beautiful Wiltshire countryside”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were so sad to leave Dibben's cottage. It isn't your usual holiday rental, this is a family letting you into their house. It's a lovely old cottage with heaps of history and personality, not brand new but very comfortable. And surprisingly spacious.
The photos don't do justice to the garden. It was in full bloom and was absolutely enchanting. And the surrounding landscape is wonderful.
The welcome tray and milk in the fridge were a nice touch. And the owners were very helpful as was the caretaker.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious first-floor lounge with unexpected wide view of the coutryside
Liked least: Bathroom need refreshing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheesh276
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gem doesn't sparkle because some amenities lacking”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage, lovely garden, but this gem that could be 5 star remains 3 star because the owner didn't spend an extra few hundred pounds.
What's the use of a lovely garden when there is no garden furniture to sit on? We were told that it was "due to arrive" and offered a discount. And no barbecue? We were told that it's not shown on the website !
The wifi was very temperamental -- worked 1 day out of 3
One expects the occasional spider in a countryside cottage -- but cobwebs indicate lack of proper cleaning.
Wine glasses look like they were discards from PoundLand. DVD player was old and didn't play our dvds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Wifi not working, no garden furniture
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dibben’s Cottage. You are absolutely correct that the cottage is not a 5 star hotel and, if you don’t mind us pointing it out, it is not priced like one. It is exactly what it says it is, an old fashioned (most people think very beautiful) English cottage in a lovely part of the countryside. We use it as our family escape and don’t want it to be anything else. Genuinely sorry that you found some cobwebs. We’ll have to try harder.

We're terribly sorry about the garden furniture - It is now there (new photos going up shortly !)

We are sorry that you could not get the DVD to work. It does work (we just re-checked) but we’ll put up some improved instructions. Thank you for feedback.

You are right, there is no BBQ. And we didn't say there was. We have been advised by an agency not to have one as guests rarely clean them and that it gets pretty messy and difficult to clean very quickly. Most people seem very happy using disposable BBQs.

The wine glasses are not from Poundland, they are from the 1950s. They have been continuously in the house for 60 years and we like to think help given Dibben’s Cottage its rather special character. We're sorry they didn’t do it for you.

But, above all, thank you for your helpful and constructive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing