We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day ”

Compton Abbas Airfield
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Seated atop a hill in the heart of the Dorset countryside, Compton Abbas Airfield restaurant is perfect for a wake up breakfast, casual lunch or scrumptious afternoon tea. We use locally sourced ingredients where we can, and are often voted the best of our kind in the country. Everyone is welcome at Compton. Most of our visitors are in fact not pilots but people who just enjoy our stunning location, unrivaled views from the restaurant & runway terrace - and of course great food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a brilliant and very different place to go , on a good day you can see for miles , and their is also the light aircraft in an out .
A good selection on the menu more cafe oriented than restaurant, even so fresh , tasty food was served, reasonably priced as well.

Thank markoulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a perfect location for a restaurant, overlooking an airfield. It was great to watch the planes taking off/landing whilst enjoying a lovely lunch. We opted for a lighter lunch, Macaroni Cheese, delicious. Larger, main meals were also available. Good choice of drinks. Meals are cooked fresh to order so can take up to 30 minutes to be served, well worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colgate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComptonAbbas, Manager at Compton Abbas Airfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ! Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon !

All the best,
Laura & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Flew into Compton Abbas yesterday on a nice sunny day and made use of the airfield cafe. The cafe is open to the general public, both flyers and non-flyers. It was evident this is a good local eating place well supported. Lots of places to sit both inside and out.

Had coffee and cake which was very tasty and serves by friendly staff.

Would recommend this place for not only coffee and cake but also breakfast and lunch.

Toilets at the airfield were a little tatty and the ladies loos were actually shut!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShurlockHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComptonAbbas, Owner at Compton Abbas Airfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I hope we see you again soon!

p.s there are two sets of ladies loos one of which is always open :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Called into Compton Abbas Airfield for a light lunch on the Bank holiday Monday, we ordered a light bite also called a child’s meal which comes with ice cream or drink, only thing is you can’t have a sugar free drink as they don’t offer them with the meal which I then pointed out that we are trying to teach children not to heighten there sugar intake which obviously is not that important to the cafe owners here. Very poor not what I would expect these days.

Thank AmandaExpertReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComptonAbbas, Owner at Compton Abbas Airfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for your review. We do have water or milk available with the children's menu both of which are refined sugar free. We will also be stocking Fruit shoot no added sugar from next week to complement the childrens menu. Running a business is incredibly hard in this day and age and each and every day we do our very best to provide the best food, drink and service we can to our customers. It is a shame that you have given such a low rating for your whole experience when your review relates to a drink. Sugar intake is incredibly important to us (in fact I run a sugar free food company) and we do offer healthier meals such as salads and we have plenty of sugar free drinks available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Very crowded and noisy at 1300 inside will be better in summer months plenty of tables outside. Food basic fare but ok. The weather was wet and murky view over the lower countryside should be very nice in the summer.

Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComptonAbbas, Owner at Compton Abbas Airfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your review - hope to see you again in the summer; we have just launched our new summer menu which is certainly far from basic so hopefully you will enjoy that next time you come up.

All the best,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compton Abbas Airfield also viewed

Shaftesbury, Dorset
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to Compton Abbas Airfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;