We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but what a delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Hill Museum

Gold Hill Museum
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small but what a delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best little Museum we have visited. An eclectic collection, well presented and lovingly cared for, from Shaftesbury and the local area. The volunteer staff are so knowledgeable and enthusiastic they made our visit a pleasure. There is no admission charge but I challenge anyone to walk out without making a contribution.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    57
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An Excellent Free Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent a fascinating hour in this excellent museum, learning things about the history of the town. Whilst we were there they also had exhibits from the 1950's which we found very interesting trying to remember them all.
Also had their own shop if you wanted to buy a souvenir.
Well worth a visit and don't forget to make a donation on leaving,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloryhornetboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go ring the bell !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very interesting place to visit has you walk in there is a large bell and a hammer for you to see how well you can make it Chime this make your interesting entrance to gold hill museum well worth a vibist

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josiedragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a longer time than expected in this little museum because the exhibits were so interesting and the volunteers so helpful, that time flew while we were there.
When you go, don't forget to sit outside in the lovely garden and enjoy the view which is spectacular. All the planting is lovely and show how much the volunteers care for their museum.
A real treat! It is free but well deserving of donations to keep it open.
...could do with a tea/coffee & cakes area to get some income from visitors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MVRMidhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gold Hill Treat !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Another super local museum--I mustn't call this one "little" as it keeps on winding from interesting room to interesting room. Local history is well-told, without crowding too much to absorb in any of the areas. The ancient building is part of the fun !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Hill Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gold Hill Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing