We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B Experience; Great Food & Location”
Review of Number 5 B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 5 B&B
Ranked #10 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this charming B&B. We chose the smaller room with the shower, which which we found perfectly adequate--and I was impressed by the fluffy towels and the built-in closet. The breakfast was delicious and the room in which it was served was sunny, private and elegant. Shaftesbury itself is charming and the fact that this establishment is steps away from everywhere in the town you might want to be--well, that makes it ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

The house is in a wonderful position a stones throw from the centre of Shaftesbury with secure parking opposite.Lovely hosts and nice room downstairs with french doors to garden.En suite has no window,and the shower only good for hair washing as no curtain,The breakfast was great with fresh figs from the garden as well as the usual cooked fayre,all beautifully cooked.Tea and coffee in room with fresh milk.Bed was huge (six foot).Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms,the front one has a good shower.but is smaller and noisier as the road was busy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimFalmouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent a night with Kate & Trevor at Five Bimport earlier in the week. Having spent a couple of days on a farm on the Somerset / Devon border, this beautiful Georgian town house couldn't have been more different in style, but equally unforgettable for its warmth, hospitality, design and charm.

Shaftesbury deserves a visit - a beautiful town perched on a hill, originally an Anglo-Saxon settlement, but with a thriving town centre with a very attractive independent feel. 5 Bimport is a perfect place to stay.

You park safely in the Trinity Church car park opposite the house and there are two basement rooms (both of which we took). One opens out onto a lovely little garden (and a welcome from a sweet black labrador in the morning) and the other looks up to the street. The decor is striking and the room facilities second to none.

Kate was a lovely host. She prepared a wonderful breakfast and gave useful advice about making the most of the visit (no one should miss Gold Hill and anyone of a certain age will recall the old Hovis ad shot here) and you should set aside a day to enjoy the town.

The breakfast / dining room is quite spectacular. With Kate's own art work adorning the walls (and available to purchase) it's a great way to spend the first couple of hours of the day.

The house itself is also memorable and, like the previous review I've made, we wish we'd spent another night here. We'll certainly be back though. Thanks Kate & Trevor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omelettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The exterior picture of this place doesn't do it justice. It is much nicer than that picture suggests. The home is beautifully decorated, clean, warm and friendly. The hosts could not have been nicer. They reccomended a pub down the road that was amazing. Our room was large and well appointed. All the creature comforts were there. Even fresh flowers. We loved it so much we contemplated changing our plans just to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was good, lovely "extra" touches with the furniture, excellent breakfast in the dining room with the hostess's own artwork mixed with that of other local artists, and the location could not have been better. Across from the Abbey, just around the corner from the High Street, in great walking distance to many interesting old buildings and lovely vistas, to say nothing of the assortment of shops and eateries. I'd be happy to return !

Room Tip: We had a twin room at the front of the house; it was quiet except for when the bin men made their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Mum and I stayed two nights in the twin room - and hardly wanted to leave. Kate and Trevor are the perfect hosts, being both helpful and friendly but not intrusive.

The breakfasts were delicious, the house beautifully appointed, and the location simply amazing. Literally just around the corner from Shaftesbury town Centre and across the street from Trinity Church, we were able to walk everywhere. Parking is available if needed.

A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Warm, friendly, comfortable with excellent breakfast!
Just off centre of cracking Dorset town, secure parking available across the road.
Bedroom was very comfortable with lovely large shower.
Breakfast in lovely dining room - fresh fruit salad, orange juice, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and proper coffee - it doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: Either of 2 rooms are excellent - you must negotiate stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbathfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shaftesbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 5 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 5 B&B

Address: Number 5 Bimport, Shaftesbury SP7 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range: $131 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 5 B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number 5 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 5 B&B Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing