We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend..”
Review of Caalm Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caalm Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend..”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had my hen do at caalm camp and would highly recommend it to anyone. The yurts are beautiful and the wood burners kept us snug despite the freezing temperatures outside, the beds are unbelievably comfortable, the facilities spotless and everything you need to hand. A lot of thought has gone into the setting up of the place. This would be a fantastic place to come with a family, as a couple or with a group of friends, I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had an amazing Hen weekend at Caalm Camp. The facilities are exceptional. The yurts are beautiful with everything you would need. The wood burning stoves keep the yurts lovely and warm, even though it was exceptionally cold outside. The communal area with a large lounge/ dining room is of such a high standard, each yurt has its own large wet room and its own fridge in the well equipped kitchen. This really is luxury camping! A fantastically memorable way to celebrate your hen weekend with your closest friends.

Room Tip: All the yurts are equally as good just different coloured doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolseameads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaalmCamp, Owner at Caalm Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the weekend with your friends at Caalm Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is out 3rd stay with Caalm Camp, we stayed for 4 nights in Daisy and yet again it was perfect. Myself and my 4 year old son enjoyed the peace and relaxation the Yurts provide, however you can enjoy the converted barn, the fabulous individual very warm bathroom and kitchen. We passed our time by playing games, watching TV, my son thoroughly enjoys the childrens area and sits for hours just colouring, visiting the sheep, goats and chickens or collecting the logs to ensure our Yurt is all warm and cosy in the evening. We frequented the local farm shops and cooked up some good meals.
We had great fun with our treasure finding, the metal detectors were great fun thank you even though we only managed to find worms!
There is an option to have coal in the fire at night and this was wonderful, it kept us warm all night and we even had lies ins.
Mark and Caryl have thought of everything and we can not recommend it enough, no matter what age you are you will enjoy the Yurt and Caalm Camp experience. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare060469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My sister Jane and I returned to Caalm camp nov. 10 20012 for 4 nights stay first morning we woke to a frosty misty magical morning ,we were so warm and cosy in "daisy" we didn't realise that there was a hard frost until we opened the door of our yurt the log burner had kept us so warm and cosy.I would highly recommend Caalm Camp to anyone it's like home from home any time of the year . The yurts are luxury it's self somewhere to just chill out do your own thing .the facilities are second to none .... Well go and try for your selfs you can't go wrong no words can truly describe the experience ... We have booked again we love the place :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiedragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A group of us booked Caalm Camp to celebrate our friends 31st birthday with a unique experience and we're so happy with our stay! The Yurts are the most cosy spaces any of us had ever stayed in. Plenty of room, comfy beds, all linens provided and not to mention the wood fire stove that kept us toasty warm all weekend (we were there on a very chilly weekend in November) and could sit comfortably in t-shirts inside the Yurt when the fire was going. The barn has been converted into an amazing lounge/kitchen and toilet area and everything was clean and very well laid-out (heated floors in the loo/shower area! Amazing!). They've even got a kids area and TV corner for those coming with children - they've seriously thought everything through at Caalm Camp! Were hoping to go back there in the spring time - we had such an amazing experience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyabaker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Caalm Camp for a recent hen do, it was such an amazing weekend! The facilities were wonderful, the yurts were beautiful, cosy and warm, and the beds so comfy. We had two lovely bonfire nights with clear full moon evenings, quite spectacular! We also had a lovely meal at the nearby pub, absolutely gourmet food! (recommended by Mark) The owner of Caalm Camp, Mark, made sure we were comfortable and lacked nothing. He even provided charcoal that we had forgotten to buy and so saved our bbq evening :) I would highly recommend this camp and will definitely return with my husband and our 2-year old as it is a great place for children also (monkey bars and cuddly goats in the next paddock!)
Many thanks Mark and Caalm Camp for providing my friend with memories she will never forget.
All the best for the future!
Maria

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MynameisMaria_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just amazing! I used to hate camping but this is glamping and so much better. Went there for a civilised, countryside, Hen weekend. We all loved it. The Yurts are warm and beautiful, the beds super comfortable and the communal area has separated shower/toilets, fridges, cupboards for each Yurt. Also has a communal lounge with TV/ dinner room. Planning to go back with family, as has a lot of things for kids as well. Little table, toys and kids books in the communal area, Playground and the farm animals nearby. I had a fantastic time there, highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
18.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven
17.0 mi away
Glampotel Bere Regis
Glampotel Bere Regis
#2 of 3 in Bere Regis
54 reviews
2.8 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caalm Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caalm Camp

Property: Caalm Camp
Address: Goods Farm Dover Street | Dorset, Shaftesbury SP7 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Cottage in the rural Blackmore Vale in Dorset, with beautiful views.Converted stables to a high standard, in a great location for many attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caalm Camp Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing