We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in adversity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent in adversity”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a party celebrating a birthday. A large venue with a lot of character. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom in our apartment was spacious and well equipped.
The main point of this post, however, is to highlight how well the staff managed in an emergency. One of our party was unlucky to suffer a very bad fall. We waited for about an hour for the ambulance. However, despite the rain and the immobile casualty the staff were unfailing in their support. Nothing was too much trouble and they were hugely supportive. They ensured the welfare of the casualty was the sole priority and I thank them for that.
Memory serves that the real ale at the bar was particularly good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rubysdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    41
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
53
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had a great night staying at the Coppleridge Inn. I arrived late, found the bar still open (with some proper local characters drinking there) and they served my a good meal. What a great finish to a long day's driving!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stopped off here for lunch whilst house hunting in the area and what a wonderful find it was. A beautiful country Inn where we were made very welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed an excellent lunch. The daily menu on the board looked very varied and we wish we could visit more often. It is also residential so an excellent holiday venue. How lucky the locals are to have this as their 'local' !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The coppleridge has been the venue for many of our family occasions and i have never been disappointed.
My first experience of this beautiful country inn was back in the 90's when my wedding reception was held here - the owner and staff couldn't have done anymore for us, they all went above and beyond and the whole day was lovely - gorgeous setting, attentive welcoming staff, and lovely rooms.
2 years ago my parents celebrated their Golden Wedding anniversary here and once again the day could not of been more perfect, lovely food and atmosphere a fantastic day had by all. We're quiet a vocal family in the nicest way!! Adam you are saint - all demands met and nothing is ever to much trouble - thank you.
Yesterday we visited once again for mothers day, we had lovely meal and again nothing was to much trouble - the staff were all friendly and attentive. If you ever happen to be at the Coppleridge for a meal and they have Olive and Pistachio sponge with pistachio brittle then i so recommend this, it is to die for and especially if you add their home made pistachio ice cream. Love this place :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night in January. Our room was very well-appointed and enormous - bedroom and sitting room combined - and a bathroom of similar dimensions, with full-sized bath and separate shower. Very good dinner in front of log fire in the restaurant - same (quite limited) menu is available in the bar. Excellent breakfast, cooked and served according to taste. Couldn't fault it and at a price no higher than some much more modest establishments.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Myself and my partner have been here many times before and each time we have had a wonderful time. The food is excellent, the staff are all very polite and pleasant. The rooms overlook the beautiful countryside and are always exceptionally clean and well presented. We have just come back from our New Years Eve stay and again we had a great time. Our room was number 3 and it must be the best one just perfect !!

Room Tip: Room 3 beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Another lovely Christmas package at the Coppleridge inn, we stayed an extra night as well. Lovely warm comfortable room, really lovely staff, and great food to boot. This was our second Xmas there, and will be looking to go again next year. This is one of the few places that take dogs, although we did not have one. Lovely dog walks right out of the door. Well done Coppleridge

Room Tip: We had room 4, lovely views, and comfortable, with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
2.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
397 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#2 of 23 in Shaftesbury
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Property: The Coppleridge Inn
Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run inn set in 15 acres of woodland & meadow overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale. We have a candlelit log fired restaurant where our chefs provide a wonderful selection of innovative and traditional dishes. These meals are also available in the bar & garden room and gardens in the summer. We are a very popular wedding venue with couples being able to get married in our 17c barn, The Garden Room and also our Woodland Wedding venue. We have our own marquee which can seat up to 150 for receptions, parties, dinners, conferences and many other purposes. Our ten large comfortable bedrooms look out over the grounds and contain all the amenities you would expect. Our bar offers Real ales, a comprehensive wine list and lots of chattern with the locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coppleridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing