We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the Coppleridge Inn as we were attending a family wedding in Shaftesbury. One room was for my daughter and partner with their 7 year old daughter and 8 week old son. The room they were given was large and spacious, even with an extra bed added. The bathroom was huge and the views across the fields were stunning (room 5).
My husband and I were in room 9 which was just as spacious and comfortable. There were a few stray cobwebs and I am not a spider lover but somehow these added to the charm!
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were efficient and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    41
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
56
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed four days and dined several times at the restaurant along with a cooked breakfast each day. We even invited some friends up who loved the place. Rooms were very good, food was excellent and all bar one of the staff were outstanding and could not have been more helpful. The only negative was when the four of us were sitting in a separate room to the bar area and closed the doors to keep the noise down a little. One of the male staff, obviously was not happy with that and for some reason burst through and opened the doors rather rudely then walked out. Would I stay here again, without a doubt and I would go out of my way to have dinner there.
Compliments to the chef.....

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a nice room, we found them most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebirdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable evening here celebrating a family birthday. The bar staff were really friendly and helpful throughout the evening. There are beautiful views over the Blackmore Vale from the garden and terrace. We did not eat on this occasion but previous food has been excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipper004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the Copperidge Inn, Shaftesbury, Dorset today for the first time for a lunchtime meal. The food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The views over the countryside was delightful. We will certainly visit there again and recommend it to our friends and family.




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful setting with wide open views over Blackmore vale from extensive and well managed gardens. Great beer and food. A field adjacent is the launch pad for hot air balloons. Staff are friendly and helpful. A very child and dog friendly Inn. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip8003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having already booked to stay here with my wife on route to Devon, I read the last review the morning we left Essex and had a mild panic.When we arrived we where greeted by friendly staff and shown over to our room. The room was very large, spotlessly clean, bright airy and modern. I later found out that they had been refurbished 18 months ago. They had some music as it was bank holiday and a BBQ which we had, which was basic but yummy. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order not a horrid buffet. We have booked some where else for the return leg but now wish we had booked to come back here. Our experience of this place was fantastic and we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We had room four which has a lovely view across the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I attended Coppleridge for a Christening celebration. The staff were pleasant and the food (buffet) was good, however, the play equipment in the back was not safe. The bottom of the slide was just soil and many children hurt their feet, bums, hands on this. The slide itself was not attached to anything!!! and the whole structure was not safe moving side to side when a child was on the swing (again underneath it was just soil and the seat was nearly on the floor). Luckily on my visit there were no serious accidents and the staff eventually after being told by a very concerned Mum tapped the area off from children. Second trip to this location both times as a celebration both occasions nice food. Just wish they were more health and safety concerned when it came to their play equipment!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecoppleridgeinn, Manager at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for bringing that to our attention on the day. We have re sited and throughly overhauled the play centre now to make sure its safe for everyone to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
2.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
403 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Property: The Coppleridge Inn
Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run inn set in 15 acres of woodland & meadow overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale. We have a candlelit log fired restaurant where our chefs provide a wonderful selection of innovative and traditional dishes. These meals are also available in the bar & garden room and gardens in the summer. We are a very popular wedding venue with couples being able to get married in our 17c barn, The Garden Room and also our Woodland Wedding venue. We have our own marquee which can seat up to 150 for receptions, parties, dinners, conferences and many other purposes. Our ten large comfortable bedrooms look out over the grounds and contain all the amenities you would expect. Our bar offers Real ales, a comprehensive wine list and lots of chattern with the locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coppleridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing