We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely family reunion at Coppleridge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgeham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another lovely family reunion at Coppleridge.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm just home from another stay at Coppleridge. It's such a good venue for our family reunions, the accommodation is great as everyone has their own space, and as most of us have dogs, its really handy to be able to let them out in the grounds. Location wise it's good for us to get to from Devon and not too far for my cousins in Bucks. This year we visited Waldour Castle and Shaftesbury - both places worth a visit. Food at Coppleridge was great, and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    41
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
52
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for one night for a business trip due to location.
Huge room and bathroom, some damp in the corners as previouly mentioned but the room still smelt fresh, free wifi too.
Bed very comfy.
Very clean and great bathroom, nice toiletries and large thick fluffy towels.
Food was Ok in the evening, breakfast very good, good choice and good portions.
Would not bother to look for something else in the area as would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park, was woken by car doors slamming as people left the establishm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st austell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Coppleridge Inn for a 3 night Xmas break 2012. This was our first Christmas away from home so we were unsure what to expect, on arrival we were put at ease straight away by a very friendly welcome and a delicious cream tea. We were then taken to room 6 which was a good size, warm, comfortable and everything that we required. However, the main event was Xmas. This is where the Coppleridge really excelled, our Xmas Eve dinner from the normal restaurant menu was 5* and we were now looking forward to our Christmas Dinner and we were not disappointed it was brilliant one of the best. We will definitely be returning for another stay. The only improvement would be updating the TV in the room to a larger wide screen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mon-bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a great four night stay.staff very friendly and cannot do enough for you.We will be going again in the next year.rooms are very comfortable and warm,WIFI in every room.Food excellent. Plenty of car parking

Room Tip: We had room four,which had a bonus of a small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in room 10. Looking back at previous reviews it is a shame they haven't sorted the damp out in the corner. However, the room was clean,cold on arrival but soon warm once the radiator was switched on. Lovely bathroom with a great shower. I think at £95 per night it is a bit expensive for what it is. The location is fantastic if you want to get away from the rat race. Peace and quiet even with our Christmas party. That leads me on to our Christmas dinner. Absolutely the best Christmas meal I have ever eaten out. The turkey was thick sliced breast meat, not a bit of that crap brown stuff other places give you. The vegetables were plentiful and cooked to perfection, in my opinion. Crispy roast potatoes, red cabbage mixed with something that tasted just delicious and I had to clear the veg plate as there was no way I was wasting it. The Christmas pudding was also the best I have ever eaten,sorry mum. It had a dry texture with a lovely moist middle, not gooey or sticky. I was informed the next day that the chef had made 2000 of them herself for the festivities. I hope they passed on my compliments and give her a good bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in December,the room was clean and nicely decorated,however it was cold until on the second night we found additional heating in the wardrobe,tiled floor in the bathroom was almost painful to walk on it was so cold,very poor pressure in the shower and no bath so had to use it! Food in the restaurant or bar was ok but a relatively small choice,nice freshly cooked breakfast,but to be honest it wasn't for us,next weekend we are in Dorset again so we were hoping to book again but decided against it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My first stay at the Coppleridge, but it won't be my last. The welcome was warm, the room clean, comfortable and so quiet. The service in the pub and dining room was superb, the food was delicious. Overall a real stress buster of a stay in a lovely part of the country. Can't wait for the next time, which hopefully will be longer than one night. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
2.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
389 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
2.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Property: The Coppleridge Inn
Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run inn set in 15 acres of woodland & meadow overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale. We have a candlelit log fired restaurant where our chefs provide a wonderful selection of innovative and traditional dishes. These meals are also available in the bar & garden room and gardens in the summer. We are a very popular wedding venue with couples being able to get married in our 17c barn, The Garden Room and also our Woodland Wedding venue. We have our own marquee which can seat up to 150 for receptions, parties, dinners, conferences and many other purposes. Our ten large comfortable bedrooms look out over the grounds and contain all the amenities you would expect. Our bar offers Real ales, a comprehensive wine list and lots of chattern with the locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coppleridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing