We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Royal Chase”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A meeting of family for a sunday lunch was excellent but the food was very very average and the weekend restaurant staff need some extra training as things that were ordered didn't appear and things that weren't ordered did appear !!!
Our own atmosphere was excellent but the hotel atmosphere was pretty average

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

As this hotel is just off the A303 en route for Cornwall, we stayed here for 1 night in July as the half way point on our journey. Me, husband, young daughter & small dog. The lovely reception staff could not have made us all feel more welcome & parking is free. We had booked a dinner, b & b package and asked for a ground floor room, which was provided. Our room was larger than average, a double & a single bed, coffee making facilities & a flat screen TV. Decent size bathroom too. All very clean & beds comfortable. The pool was given a thumbs up by husband & daughter & the grounds were well kept for entertaining the dog. We were the only ones in the restaurant for dinner which was a shame because the food was lovely. We spent a peaceful & restful night & had a very good breakfast the next morning. Served to order & not a buffet, so the food was fresh & hot with good coffee. I would recommend this hotel for the odd night but not for a long stay as it is on a very busy road & not very scenic.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitstable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here at probably the hottest time of the year, room was airy and clean as was the overall look of the hotel. Probably could do we updating but the staff certainly make up for this, nothing is too much bother for them. The swimming pool and the sauna are a must would defo stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheedarcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for three nights last week with my young daughter and her friend. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff who were happy to provide a fan for the room, jugs of iced water and cater for culinary whims of young girls. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was certainly not "tired" and had a good shower, fluffy white towels and crisp bed linen. Swimming pool was a decent size and invaluable during the heat wave after long days at Longleat and Monkey World. it would have benefitted from a couple of loungers for supervising adults. Restaurant and bar were very pleasant with good variety of reasonably priced food. All in all a very comfortable place to stay as a single adult and for families.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front may suffer from road noise from the roundabout. Very quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Royal Chase is an older hotel with a very nice restaurant/dining room, plus a full pub, pool and spa, as well as meeting/banquet facilities. While the rooms are not large, they are quite comfortable. The bed and breakfast package is a good deal and we enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant. The general atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The staff are very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working locally. A colleague booked the hotel and we arrived early evening after a long drive. Checking in was quick and efficient and the receptionist was extremely helpful.

When I got to my room, which had a no smoking sign on the door someone had obviously been smoking in the room very recently and it stunk. I went to reception and asked for another room and was told they didn't have any other rooms available. After a few minutes of kicking up a fuss another room became available, albeit a twin room when my original was a double.

The new room was smoke free and very spacious, but like most of the hotel was tired and in need of refurbishing.

We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant, as we felt we could find better food and ambience in one of the many village pubs locally and weren't disappointed at the Grove Arms in Ludwell.

I had a good nights sleep and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were attentive.

Overall the staff make the hotel, but it could really do with a full refurbishment to bring it in line with the sort of quality most travellers expect.



The bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep

Room Tip: This hotel is on a busy roundabout, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isub-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a large family room on the ground floor, the shower was excellent as were the beds.
However the lavatory was very brown caused by limescale left to fester too long and there was no loo brush. I noticed the following day that whilst our room was cleaned and beds remade no one used the hoover. This I find is becoming the norm in hotels these days.

However, the friendliness of the staff made up for the shortcomings. We were with a group of 16 friends who all decided to stay in the hotel for dinner on the first night without having made a booking. The cheerful manageress took this in her stride and dinner was most successful. Breakfast too was served by friendly staff with plenty of choice of breakfast including kippers and haddock.. The hotel is well place for exploring Shaftesbury by foot about 10mins but don't return by foot at night as the entrance has many uneven surfaces.

Would we return yes, we would but with a bottle of descaler.

Room Tip: There was no lift so I would choose ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
215 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
637 reviews
15 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel

Address: Royal Chase Roundabout Salisbury Road, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel Dorset
Shaftesbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing