We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
108
148
100
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
148
100
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnight porterthree stargood sizepleasant hotelstayed one nightfamily roomtown centrecomfortable stayshort breakgold hilllovely roombed and breakfastbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsyogurtwedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 433 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here at probably the hottest time of the year, room was airy and clean as was the overall look of the hotel. Probably could do we updating but the staff certainly make up for this, nothing is too much bother for them. The swimming pool and the sauna are a must would defo stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheedarcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for three nights last week with my young daughter and her friend. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff who were happy to provide a fan for the room, jugs of iced water and cater for culinary whims of young girls. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was certainly not "tired" and had a good shower, fluffy white towels and crisp bed linen. Swimming pool was a decent size and invaluable during the heat wave after long days at Longleat and Monkey World. it would have benefitted from a couple of loungers for supervising adults. Restaurant and bar were very pleasant with good variety of reasonably priced food. All in all a very comfortable place to stay as a single adult and for families.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front may suffer from road noise from the roundabout. Very quiet at the back.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Royal Chase is an older hotel with a very nice restaurant/dining room, plus a full pub, pool and spa, as well as meeting/banquet facilities. While the rooms are not large, they are quite comfortable. The bed and breakfast package is a good deal and we enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant. The general atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The staff are very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working locally. A colleague booked the hotel and we arrived early evening after a long drive. Checking in was quick and efficient and the receptionist was extremely helpful.

When I got to my room, which had a no smoking sign on the door someone had obviously been smoking in the room very recently and it stunk. I went to reception and asked for another room and was told they didn't have any other rooms available. After a few minutes of kicking up a fuss another room became available, albeit a twin room when my original was a double.

The new room was smoke free and very spacious, but like most of the hotel was tired and in need of refurbishing.

We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant, as we felt we could find better food and ambience in one of the many village pubs locally and weren't disappointed at the Grove Arms in Ludwell.

I had a good nights sleep and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were attentive.

Overall the staff make the hotel, but it could really do with a full refurbishment to bring it in line with the sort of quality most travellers expect.



The bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep

Room Tip: This hotel is on a busy roundabout, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isub-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a large family room on the ground floor, the shower was excellent as were the beds.
However the lavatory was very brown caused by limescale left to fester too long and there was no loo brush. I noticed the following day that whilst our room was cleaned and beds remade no one used the hoover. This I find is becoming the norm in hotels these days.

However, the friendliness of the staff made up for the shortcomings. We were with a group of 16 friends who all decided to stay in the hotel for dinner on the first night without having made a booking. The cheerful manageress took this in her stride and dinner was most successful. Breakfast too was served by friendly staff with plenty of choice of breakfast including kippers and haddock.. The hotel is well place for exploring Shaftesbury by foot about 10mins but don't return by foot at night as the entrance has many uneven surfaces.

Would we return yes, we would but with a bottle of descaler.

Room Tip: There was no lift so I would choose ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews