We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
$129
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
$135
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
108
151
101
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
151
101
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnight porterthree stargood sizepleasant hotelstayed one nightfamily roomtown centrecomfortable stayshort breakgold hilllovely roombed and breakfastbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsyogurtwedding
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 437 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stopped here a few weeks ago for a weekend break. Whilst the hotel is functional, the room was large and spacious and nice and quiet at night the hotel is in desperate need of a good makeover as it seems stuck in the 1970s. I'd probably stop here again if I had to but wouldn't go out of my way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_gamekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with work colleagues, staff could not be friendlier and helpful and a special mention to the night porter you were a star. rooms were clean and food was excellent, on check in the receptionist made us welcome and pointed out all facilities including free wifi will use again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lat night I stayed at the Royal Chase Hotel
The sink was in an old and worn unit and had a massive crack the general appearance of the bathroom suggest that it needs a complete makeover.
At breakfast I requested a kipper this arrived very quickly but although it looked right it was cold my suspicion is that it had been microwaved possibly from frozen. Although the evening meal was all hot the naan bread was rubbery and wet could this be a sign that it had been microwaved from frozen? Before leaving I checked and thse were cooked by the hotels ussual chef.
The radiator made a strange noise, it sounded like somthing rattling around inside, this happened whenever the pump was running this was particularly irritating at 6 in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the extension, particularly room 32 the staff confirmed that these had noisy radiators.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't be misled by the word 'luxury' in the description on the hotel's website. It has a pool but that doesn't make it a luxury hotel. Walls and carpeting were very old style refurbishment but the place was clean.

We were upgraded to a junior suite which was spacious alright but the decor was a mix of traditional and new with no real 'feel' at all. Bed was two singles put together and very comfortable.

Dinner menu was limited but to be fair the chef agreed to grill the salmon (listed as fried on the menu) and my wife said it was excellent which is praise indeed!

Breakfast was EXCELLENT with everything you could ever want on the menu and cooked fresh to order.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay at the Royal Chase every couple of months and the standard of rooms, service and food is always good. This time they have put a TV with Sky in the bar to keep us entertained. Friendly staff and welcome from all. Good breakfast and plenty of it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews