We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay and Dinner Dance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay and Dinner Dance”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We held our annual Dinner Dance at the Royal Chase for the first time on the 12th November.
I must say the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was of a very high quality, infact as they were catering for 103 it really was top notch as was breakfast , with no complaints (unlike other hotels we have used over the past 30 years).
The rooms were good ,a bit shabby in places but overall good and clean, it is being updated so its only to be expected. It is a bit warm in the rooms but nothing that opening a window doesn't sort. The pool was open. As Chairman I asked my fellow revellers of they're opinions and all were positive, we took around 20 rooms. Overall I would highly recommend it for any occasion. We're rebooking next year

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Good Afternoon Doug,

Thank you for for your review and excellant comments which I have spoken to all the staff involved.
I am also pleased to hear that you have booked for next year and with it being your 50th Anniversary, I am hoping that all 33 rooms will be taken and majority refurbished.
I will alos look forward to seeing Dee once again and her assistance in organising the event was second to non.

PS she also mentioned about some tickets for one of your next events, both myself and Chef are looking forward to it.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Tony Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    137
    87
    40
    27
See reviews for
98
130
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked a weekend offer to visit an area new to us. We arrived quite late but the reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room, on the first floor, I think was probably one of the rooms still awaiting refurbishment but was very clean and pleasant. We had a drink in the bar which has potential but is rather more functional than cosy. Our bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, the next morning, we encountered the rather problematic plumbing that the hotel has a little bit of a reputation for and our shower was quite unusable. I spoke with the manager who could not have been more helpful and we were moved to a much bigger refurbished room immediately after the very pleasant breakfast. If I have any criticisms of the new room it is that perhaps a few pictures and a standard lamp may have improved the ambience a little. But again very nice and spotlessly clean. There is a problem with the plumbing - during showering, the loo began to make some very ominous glugging sounds - but nothing untoward happened - fortunately. It is an old building, I suspect the plumbing is not up to the job, but doubtless it would cost a very great deal to put it all right. Best Western offer 'hotels of character' and those we have stayed in have had just that. A character hotel isn't generally a corporate hotel and so perhaps some facilities may leave a little to be desired. You pays your money ....! We didn't eat in the hotel - the restaurant looked very pleasant but we went to the Half Moon across the roundabout which offers local beer and a very good, reasonably priced menu. But we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay, breakfasts are ample with good choice and Shaftesbury and Sherbourne are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 17 until they sort the shower if I were you - unless you are happy just having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotor1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at The Royal Chase Hotel, I am sorry to hear of your problems and I had hoped moving you to a larger room would have made your stay more enjoyable.
The problems you have mentioned have been investigated and are due for repair this week as apparently it has been on going and I want it to end.
You are also right about the lack of pictures on the walls, i have mentioned it to the owners who returned the following week with a selection of prints to go into bedrooms.

I hope you return to the hotel soon so that I can thank you personally for bringing these points to my attention.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed for two nights recently. Having read previous negative reviews we were pleasently suprised by the standard of this hotel which is under new management. Our first floor room was large and aduquately furnished with a large comfortable bed and a clean bathroom . Breakfast was served in a pleasant room and was freshly cooked and of good quality. Evening bar meals were very good value and moderately priced. During our visit the swimming poll was open and in use. Only negative comments; a stronger shower, more choice on Tv channels and a less bossy receptionist, and no lift.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Mr John G,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Royal Chase Hotel.
The problems you have mentioned are being looked into but would like to know who the bossy receptionist was?
The pool was reopened 3 days earlier with the owners helping with the final clean and staff from one of our sister hotel, The Rembrandt Hotel, also helping. It is now looking excellant with the new lighting and temp at a steady 30 degrees.
We have also now have Sky Sports in our lounge area as another channel for our guests enjoyment.
Future plans are for a lift to be installed along with further bedrooms to the hotel.
Please contact me personally when you next require a reservation so that I may deal with your booking myself.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We only stayed one night, thank god! Our room was very tired indeed, the bed was hard, the window would not shut properly so not very secure as it was on the ground floor, it was freezing cold, the bathroom was like a service station style sink, and the worst part? All 3 of us were bitten by something in the night....i really wish we had paid an extra hundred quid to go to the Grosvenor.
The closest thing we could liken it to is the hotel which Alan Partridge lives in!

Room Tip: Don't have room 30!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Silver 77,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us in June 2011.
Having only just started at The Royal Chase Hotel, I am pleased to find that your comments have been listened to by the owners, as Room 30 has been refurbished to a high standard and is part of a refurbishing programme which includes the leisure club and the hotel grounds.
I hope you do revisit the hotel and view the changes that have been made since the summer ended.

Kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shaftesbury hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

From the outside this Hotel looks fine.
My bed was awful... hardly slept at all.
If you have to stay here make sure you test the bed first.
It really needs a complete make-over.

Room Tip: get reception to show you room ... when your in the room have a quick check of the bed. DONT PAY FI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomTrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we picked it for the pool and it was short notice only one night but when we arrived the pool was being worked on wait for it seven weeks. oh and they had rung or emailed us.the thing was our little boy was so happy that we were staying in a posh hotel that we didnt make a fuss.the room dated from the 80s and i thought i was back in basic training with the balnkets.its old and outdated.me and my wife were too shocked for words.we stayed in a travelodge the next night on the return journey and that was great.the trouble is i believe its the same in most hotels they dont or wont spend the money to short things out. i will be writing to the head shed at best western.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen_taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim G, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for leaving valuable feedback. The hotel is now under new management and there will be significant change and investment happening in the short, medium and long term.
The pool is closed for a few weeks currently (unfortunately for your visit) however will soon be open again as a much improved facility. There are many other improvements planned and I sincerely hope that you consider a return visit in the future to see the changes first hand.

Regards The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed one night (Sunday). Room OK but still in the 80's. We were expecting the food to be better than it was (the hotel has an AA Rosette) but it was quite ordinary. Our tenth Best Western hotel in two years and the others were better; much better in most cases.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel

Property: Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Address: Royal Chase Roundabout Salisbury Road, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel Dorset
Shaftesbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing