We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grosvenor Arms

The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went here for my birthday after Christmas on a Sunday. The menu was very limited - one meat, fish, veggie and pizzas and I found the service slow. The quality of the food was very good but definitely pricey for Shaftesbury. The bar didn't serve draught cider which was disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fijohnson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    82
    37
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Post revamp visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

First visit after the hotel and restaurant had been revamped. Visited the restaurant and very much enjoyed it. Everybody's food was excellent, service with a smile and it didn't break the bank. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere but Limited Choice and Poor Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I went to join a group celebrating my sisters birthday on Saturday. The decoration in both the bar area and restaurant was very good, a nice balance between traditional with a contemporary twist. The food was good without being exceptional and was overpriced for the quality and quantity provided. The steak had to be the highlight of what proved to be a rather limited number of choices most with an Italian theme. A number of the group struggled to find something they wanted, particularly on the starter front. In short although the atmosphere and decoration desrves praise the food was limited and a little expensive for what you got.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsettravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I came here for Sunday breakfast, it was near the end of service and wasn't very busy. Even so the service was good. I had a full English, as one should if feeling a little delicate, and although the plate was too big for the food making it look quite sparse it was very good. One sausage, two bacons, one egg and button mushrooms, very good coffee and nice orange juice. Price was as you would normally pay in a hotel £12.50.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliPepper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best that Shaftesbury has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

At the time of my reviewing the Grosvenor Arms it was rated as 19th of the 37 Shaftesbury restaurants listed on tripadvisor. This somewhat undermines the credibility of tripadvisor as a review site. As I said for service, food and above all ambience the Grosvenor Arms is as a package the best that Shaftesbury has to offer. If it were a horse race they would be calling for a stewards enquiry. Suffice to say that when we dined the restaurant was full and the vibe was positive. This was not the case with several of the tripadvisor higher rated establishments.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grosvenor Arms also viewed

 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing