We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place shame the food is cold”
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice place shame the food is cold”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I went with some friends for dinner the other night to the Grosvenor Arms in Shaftsbury after hearing how good it was after being taken over and refurbished.

We had booked a table the week before but when we got to the bar they couldn’t find the booking. That in itself happens and systems sometimes don’t work and I can survive. The staff looked through their computer and consulted over a period of time and eventually got back to us to say ti was fine we could have a table after all. The rather strange thing was there were four tables that I could see all night that weren’t ever taken that we could easily have had so why the whole drama about finding if we could have a table is a bit beyond me. I appreciate that maybe some of these tables never turned up but I’m not sure if four tables would fit that bill.

The menu sounded nice with a combination of quite sophisticated food along with pizza and salad. The one thing I would say about the selection would be there is an acute lack of vegetarian food or separate menu. I did say to the waiter that my wife was vegetarian and he did offer to get the chef to make something special for her. All of that is nice, but honestly being vegetarian is not that unusual and thinking of them before is a good start rather than we can make something up for you approach.

Everyone had a selection of both specials and off the menu and everyone had a good meal, apart from me.

I had the duck egg with celeriac and truffle oil for a starter. It sounded nice, came out looking good but was just luke warm which made it a bit unpleasant to eat, cold runny poached egg not the best thing to eat, warm runny poached egg, lovely.

I then had the rump steak with béarnaise. It came out perfectly cooked and nicely presented on a wooden chopping board with a small pot of sauce and chips on the side. All looking good but once again it was room temperature rather than actually being hot. The main issue was wooden boards don’t transfer any heat to what’s on top so it just adds a cooling effect to the food. The second was the steak was cut into three or four pieces, which looked nice, but once again basically let what heat there was in the medium rare steak out into the air leaving me with another room luke warm course.

I only ever write reviews here if I say the same thing to the people in the place where I have eaten which I did on this occasion as well. When I spoken to the staff, who were on the whole nice and pleasant, about the temperature of the food they just said ‘oh I’ll tell the chef’ the second time I said about the cold steak the waitress looked more annoyed than interested.

No matter how good a place is everywhere has bad nights when things don’t go right and that is fine and I’m more than happy to keep going to places even when I have a bad meal somewhere. However, what does need to happed is the even when things go wrong and customer says something to staff about it something needs to happen. I’m not talking about I wanted the courses deducted from the bill necessarily, although some acknowledgment of my complaint would have been nice. Maybe my complaint had been passed onto the head waiter but if I did he never came over to apologise, talk to me or anything which makes me think it’s probably more about the staff actually just not telling him what is going on combined with him not knowing either.

I realise this is quite a long review but this meal was £50 a head for not actually having three courses each so it’s not cheap and for that amount of money I seriously expect better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett H, Manager at The Grosvenor Arms, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Allan101,

Firstly I would like to apologise for you not enjoy your dinner in our restaurant last week, there is no excuse for serving lukewarm food and the chef has taken on board your feedback regarding the presentation of our steaks. I am glad however that your dinner guests enjoyed their meals.

You have quite rightly pointed out that if anything has gone wrong then the restaurant manager on duty should have addressed your comments at the time. At the very least he or she should have come to you to apologise and hopefully resolve any problems you have experienced.

Your review did mention that you liked our menu but you thought there was an acute lack of vegetarian options. We do currently have several vegetarian dishes on our menu but our chef will review what is on offer and see what improvements can be made. We try our best to make sure the menu appeals to all palates but as you mentioned in your review our chef is always happy to accommodate requests.

Thank you far taking the time to write the review and I sincerely hope that you will visit our restaurant again in the near future.

Kind regards
Brett Hardy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    107
    57
    19
    5
See reviews for
55
221
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was here for a day as The Artist for tHe Day for the Snowdrop Festival. I wasn't really a guest, but during the day I had refreshments from the bar. What a lovely place, the young man behind the bar knew I wasn't really a customer but treated me with politeness and care and brought my lovely hot coffees through to,the pop up shop where I was painting. The rooms are beautifully decorated , clean and comfortable, dogs are allowed in the bar! The ladies cloakroom clean as a whistle. I watched several very happy lunch guests arrive and leave and it seems everyone had a good time and enjoyed themselves. From what I experiences, saw and heard I would recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here on really short notice after staying nearby for a few days. My husband and I came by for dinner at the restaurant (wood oven pizza was amazing!!). After we finished dinner around 8pm we had a little look around and decided to treat ourselves for the evening. The hotel had one room available which they gave to is at a discounted rate with brekkie included.
The room was awesome, balcony, freestanding bath, super king size beds with really spacious rooms. Needless to say we had a brilliant sleepless night. The fire alarm did wake us up crudely at 6.30am but that didn't stop us enjoying our stay. Brekkie was huge, delicious and spoilt for choice.
Not only that but when I got home I realised that my baby brain had left a number of items of clothing in the wardrobe - they promptly returned them to me in the post the very next day free if charge! Fantastic!! We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked 3 nights via Mr & Mrs Smith and wasn’t disappointed. The weather was wet as expected but that didn’t stop us having a great break. The room was spacious with a huge bed and a roll top bath in the corner. Not able to make use of the balcony overlooking the courtyard but it would be great in the summer. The staff were attentive and quickly sorted out a malfunctioning coffee machine. As well as the breakfasts we ate in on 2 evenings and were very happy with the quality and range of the dishes.

Room Tip: Room 9 (a Junior Suite) overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The elegant, newly-refurbished Grosvenor Arms - perfectly positioned in the centre of a surprisingly peaceful town square - is a delightful place to meet friends, to eat, and to stay. The Restaurant is spacious, light, and original in its decor, the service is really excellent, and the food is beautiful. We met for a family Sunday lunch, and were served supreme roast beef, tender and *full of flavour*; we have never ever eaten better! The service was not too formal but really good, nothing too much trouble, but no 'fuss'. The manager was keeping his eyes on everything, so it ran smoothly and to perfection.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Enjoyed a short break at The Grosvenor Arms. We were upgraded to larger room, the first room we were offered was facing the High Street, the next room was facing into the pretty courtyard, large room with walk in shower. Really comfy bed, room clean and loved the drinks machine. Breakfasts were amazing and kept you going all day. We ate in the restaurant, lovely food and a nice atmosphere. Staff very friendly and attentive at all times. Shaftesbury is a lovely place and if you are looking for a relaxing weekend, this is a great destination and plenty of pretty places nearby to visit, should you wish to explore further.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaunyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is a good place for a quiet get away. The decoration throughout is near perfect. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds. There is a coffee machines in the room with a limited choice of pods that go into the machine. There was no kettle. although there was hot available from reception. The menu had a limited choice however the food was so good and imaginative with sea robin as a starter for example.The staff were friendly and ready to help. The bar and restaurant was very busy in the evenings with locals. During the week the bar area again was busy with meetings, sometimes its was difficult to find somewhere to sit.
This hotel is a good place to stay if you would like to chill out, read, go for a walk, enjoy good food as Shaftesbury's has very little to offer

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Property: The Grosvenor Arms
Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing